Left arrow

PDC Super Series 2 Day Three Draw: First Round line-up for Players Championship 7

Right arrow

PDC Super Series 2 Day Four: Players Championship 8 Draw and Live Scores

Jonny Clayton claims second PDC Super Series title

Jamie Shaw in PDC Super Series 25 Mar 2021
Clayton picks up his third title of 2021 (Photo by Lawrence Lustig/PDC)

Jonny Clayton secured his third title of the season at Players Championship Seven with an 8-5 victory over James Wade in the final.

Clayton, who had claimed The Masters title and a Players Championship success last month, continued his blistering spell of form to add to his tally.

The Welsh World Cup winner averaged above 98 in six of his seven wins on the day, kicking off with a 6-3 victory over Josh Payne before defeating Ted Evetts 6-2 and Jason Lowe 6-3.

He then overcame Grand Slam champion Jose de Sousa 6-4 in a high-quality Quarter-Final which saw both players average above 103.

Clayton had reeled off the final four legs without reply to defeat De Sousa, and went on to whitewash Jason Heaver 7-0 in the Semi-Finals to reach a fifth final of the year.

The final saw the two most recent winners of televised titles collide, and it was Clayton who started strongly by opening up a 2-0 lead.

Wade, though, hit back in leg three but only for Clayton to reel off three in a row – including a 116 checkout – to move 5-1 ahead.

Wade posted back-to-back 14-darters in a run of three legs as he cut the gap to 5-4, but was left waiting on 32 in a key tenth leg as Clayton held his nerve to take out 72 on tops.

Wade fired in a 180 and landed double four to pull back to 6-5, but double eight edged Clayton clear once more before he sealed victory with a 13-darter on double 12.

“It’s brilliant, I’m a happy man,” said Clayton.

“James finishes brilliantly so for him to comment about my finishing, I’m a happy man – but I had to finish my last darts because James was there waiting. He kept coming back and I was nervous.

“I’m going to keep trying to get to finals. I’ve got confidence and consistency; my averages are quite high in the 90s and maybe in the 100s, and my confidence is flying with that kind of average.

“I take everything day by day, and hopefully it keeps going.”

UK Open champion Wade followed up Wednesday’s Quarter-Final appearance in Players Championship 6 by reaching the decider 24 hours later.

He averaged over 100 in his early wins over Ciaran Teehan and Wayne Jones before overcoming Luke Humphries 6-3 in their rematch of the recent UK Open final.

Wade battled past Australia’s Gordon Mathers and Lithuania’s Darius Labanauskas to reach the Semi-Finals, where he held off a stirring fightback from Gabriel Clemens – who came from 4-0 down to level at five-all before the left-hander prevailed.

Clemens’ run saw him reach a second Semi-Final on the ProTour this year, while Heaver’s display was his best run since winning a Tour Card at Qualifying School last month.

Winchester’s Chas Barstow, who narrowly missed out on winning a Tour Card but earned a top-up place in the field as a PDPA Associate Member, knocked out World Champion Gerwyn Price during his run to a first professional Quarter-Final.

De Sousa and Labanauskas were joined in the Last Eight by Vincent van der Voort, while Mathers enjoyed his best run on the ProTour since winning his Tour Card as he reached the Last 16.

Friday sees PDC Super Series 2 conclude with Players Championship 8 in Milton Keynes, with a further £75,000 in prize money on offer as 128 players compete.


PDC Super Series 2 Event Three Results

Thursday March 18

First Round
Joe Cullen 6-0 Krzysztof Kciuk
Ryan Murray 6-3 Derk Telnekes
Darius Labanauskas 6-3 Eddie Lovely
Raymond van Barneveld 6-3 Matthew Edgar
William Borland 6-3 Dave Chisnall
Luc Peters 6-4 Martin Schindler
Daryl Gurney 6-5 Darren Webster
Steve Beaton 6-2 Mike De Decker
James Wade 6-3 Ciaran Teehan
Wayne Jones 6-3 Daniel Larsson
Luke Humphries 6-5 Madars Razma
Steve West 6-1 David Evans
Gordon Mathers 6-5 Krzysztof Ratajski
Gavin Carlin 6-5 Peter Hudson
Aaron Beeney 6-5 Dirk van Duijvenbode
James Wilson 6-4 Rusty-Jake Rodriguez
Gerwyn Price 6-4 John Henderson
Chas Barstow 6-4 Kai Fan Leung
Andy Hamilton 6-4 Ross Smith
Boris Krcmar 6-4 John Brown
Danny Noppert 6- 3 Gino Vos
William O’Connor 6-3 Alan Tabern
Michael Rasztovits 6-4 Glen Durrant
Scott Mitchell 6-0 Jake Jones
Michael Smith 6-0 Justin Pipe
Ron Meulenkamp 6-2 Adrian Lewis
Gary Anderson 6-5 Stephen Bunting
Ritchie Edhouse 6-2 Max Hopp
Damon Heta 6-3 Jon Worsley
Jesus Noguera 6-3 Jack Main
Gabriel Clemens 6-5 Jeffrey De Zwaan
Kirk Shepherd 6-2 Lorenzo Pronk
José de Sousa 6-3 Andy Boulton
Dimitri Van den Bergh 6-3 Karel Sedlacek
Danny Baggish 6-4 Ryan Searle
Chris Dobey 6-1 Mark McGeeney
Jeff Smith 6-3 Brendan Dolan
Mickey Mansell 6-1 Adam Hunt
Rob Cross 6-5 Peter Jacques
Kim Huybrechts 6-3 Niels Zonneveld
Jonny Clayton 6-3 Josh Payne
Ted Evetts 6-3 Martijn Kleermaker
Mervyn King 6-5 Scott Waites
Jason Lowe 6-3 Martin Atkins
Mensur Suljovic 6-2 Andrew Gilding
Steve Lennon 6-4 Lewis Williams
Jermaine Wattimena 6-3 Nick Kenny
Ryan Meikle 6-4 Martin Thomas
Rowby-John Rodriguez 6-5 Peter Wright
Jason Heaver 6-5 Bradley Brooks
Jamie Hughes 6-2 Steffen Siepmann
Zoran Lerchbacher 6-5 Keane Barry
John Michael 6-4 Ian White
Luke Woodhouse 6-1 Adam Gawlas
Brett Claydon 6-5 Callan Rydz
Joe Murnan 6-4 Martin Lukeman
Maik Kuivenhoven 6-4 Devon Petersen
Alan Soutar 6-4 Keegan Brown
Boris Koltsov 6-4 Ryan Joyce
Simon Whitlock 6-1 Berry van Peer
Nathan Aspinall 6-2 Jelle Klaasen
Geert De Vos 6-3 Gary Blades
Vincent van der Voort 6-0 Lisa Ashton
Steve Brown 6-3 Ricky Evans

Second Round
Ryan Murray 6-5 Joe Cullen
Darius Labanauskas 6-1 Raymond van Barneveld
William Borland 6-4 Luc Peters
Steve Beaton 6-5 Daryl Gurney
James Wade 6-1 Wayne Jones
Luke Humphries 6-3 Steve West
Gordon Mathers 6-3 Gavin Carlin
James Wilson 6-2 Aaron Beeney
Chas Barstow 6-2 Gerwyn Price
Andy Hamilton 6-2 Boris Krcmar
Danny Noppert 6-4 William O’Connor
Scott Mitchell 6-5 Michael Rasztovits
Michael Smith 6-3 Ron Meulenkamp
Ritchie Edhouse 6-5 Gary Anderson
Damon Heta 6-4 Jesus Noguera
Gabriel Clemens 6-3 Kirk Shepherd
José de Sousa 6-4 Dimitri Van den Bergh
Danny Baggish 6-2 Chris Dobey
Jeff Smith 6-5 Mickey Mansell
Kim Huybrechts 6-5 Rob Cross
Jonny Clayton 6-2 Ted Evetts
Jason Lowe 6-2 Mervyn King
Steve Lennon 6-3 Mensur Suljovic
Jermaine Wattimena 6-4 Ryan Meikle
Jason Heaver 6-4 Rowby-John Rodriguez
Jamie Hughes 6-5 Zoran Lerchbacher
Luke Woodhouse 6-4 John Michael
Joe Murnan 6-2 Brett Claydon
Maik Kuivenhoven 6-5 Alan Soutar
Boris Koltsov 6-3 Simon Whitlock
Geert De Vos 6-4 Nathan Aspinall
Vincent van der Voort 6-2 Steve Brown
Losers: £500

Last 32
Darius Labanauskas 6-3 Ryan Murray
William Borland 6-5 Steve Beaton
James Wade 6-3 Luke Humphries
Gordon Mathers 6-3 James Wilson
Chas Barstow 6-1 Andy Hamilton
Scott Mitchell 6-5 Danny Noppert
Michael Smith 6-1 Ritchie Edhouse
Gabriel Clemens 6-4 Damon Heta
José de Sousa 6-3 Danny Baggish
Jeff Smith 6-1 Kim Huybrechts
Jonny Clayton 6-3 Jason Lowe
Steve Lennon 6-3 Jermaine Wattimena
Jason Heaver 6-5 Jamie Hughes
Luke Woodhouse 6-4 Joe Murnan
Maik Kuivenhoven 6-4 Boris Koltsov
Vincent van der Voort 6-5 Geert De Vos
Losers: £1,000

Last 16
Darius Labanauskas 6-3 William Borland
James Wade 6-5 Gordon Mathers
Chas Barstow 6-5 Scott Mitchell
Gabriel Clemens 6-1 Michael Smith
José de Sousa 6-3 Jeff Smith
Jonny Clayton 6-3 Steve Lennon
Jason Heaver 6-1 Luke Woodhouse
Vincent van der Voort 6-2 Maik Kuivenhoven
Losers: £1,500

James Wade 6-4 Darius Labanauskas
Gabriel Clemens 6-3 Chas Barstow
Jonny Clayton 6-4 José de Sousa
Jason Heaver 6-4 Vincent van der Voort
Losers: £2,250

James Wade 7-5 Gabriel Clemens
Jonny Clayton 7-0 Jason Heaver
Losers: £3,000

Jonny Clayton 8-5 James Wade
Winner: £10,000
Runner-up: £6,000