Left arrow

Nordic Darts Masters 2021 live stream | How to watch live online

Right arrow

Razma stuns Aspinall as Van Gerwen survives early scare at the Nordic Masters

Nordic Darts Masters 2021 Day One preview and order of play | World Series commences in Copenhagen

Jamie Shaw in Nordic Darts Masters 16 Sep 2021
Gary Anderson returns to action (Photo by Lawrence Lustig/PDC)

The opening World Series event of 2021 begins in Copenhagen on Friday as the big names take on a regional representative in Round One of the Nordic Darts Masters.

The inaugural PDC World Series event in Denmark will see 16 players battling it out over two days at Forum Copenhagen.

Eight PDC representatives are joined in the line-up by eight qualifiers from the Nordic & Baltic region as they compete for a £60,000 prize fund.

The eight PDC stars will each face a regional qualifier in the opening round, with the top four ranked players seeded in the draw.

Fresh from his World Cup triumph alongside John Henderson for Scotland last weekend, world number two Peter Wright begins his latest pursuit of glory with a tie against Finland’s Marko Kantele.

Wright, the reigning World Matchplay champion, has three World Series titles to his name – the most recent of which coming at the 2019 German Masters.

Kantele has appeared in four previous PDC World Championships and was a Tour Card holder from 2019-2020.

Michael van Gerwen, the record 15-time World Series event winner, launches his latest quest for a first title of the year with a clash against Lithuania’s Darius Labanauskas.

Van Gerwen’s last PDC title came at the Players Championship Finals last November, making it his longest title drought in a decade.

World number 39 Labanauskas is the highest ranked regional qualifier and was beaten by Van Gerwen in the Quarter-Finals of the 2019/20 World Championship.

Gary Anderson marks his first tournament appearance since the World Matchplay in July with a clash against Denmark’s Andreas Toft Jørgensen.

Anderson opted out of last week’s World Cup of Darts but will have been delighted to see his compatriots pick up the trophy, now he returns to business hoping to avert an upset against the top-ranked Danish player on the PDC’s Nordic & Baltic circuit.

Fallon Sherrock features in a televised tournament for the first time this year and will be out to silence the critics when she faces Danish qualifier Niels Heinsøe.

Fallon Sherrock in action (Photo by Lawrence Lustig/PDC)

Sherrock became the first woman to beat a man at the PDC World Championship two years ago and was due to feature in the World Series last year before the global pandemic caused the events to be postponed.

Reigning World Champion Gerwyn Price starts his bid for a second World Series title with a tie against Sweden’s Daniel Larsson.

Price won last year’s World Series Finals and scooped the season’s first European Tour title at the Hungarian Darts Trophy a fortnight ago.

Larsson is a current Tour Card holder but has endured a nightmare season so far, winning just one match in 11 Players Championship appearances.

Premier League champion Jonny Clayton opens up against Ivan Springborg Poulsen – one of three Danish representatives aiming to pull off an upset on home soil.

Former World Series event winner Nathan Aspinall faces a tricky opener against Latvia’s Madars Razma – a Players Championship runner-up last season.

World Matchplay finalist Dimitri Van den Bergh kicks off the night with a tie against Sweden’s Johan Engström – who featured in both the recent Hungarian Trophy and World Cup of Darts.

The action gets under way from 6pm BST, with First Round matches to be contested over the best of 11 legs.


Nordic Darts Masters 2021 Day One Schedule

All times BST – Local time one hour ahead

Friday September 17

First Round

6.15pm Dimitri Van den Bergh v Johan Engström
6.45pm Jonny Clayton v Ivan Springborg Poulsen
7.15pm Nathan Aspinall v Madars Razma
7.45pm Gerwyn Price v Daniel Larsson
8.15pm Gary Anderson v Andreas Toft Jørgensen
8.45pm Fallon Sherrock v Niels Heinsøe
9.15pm Peter Wright v Marko Kantele
9.45pm Michael van Gerwen v Darius Labanauskas