Left arrow

Brisbane Darts Masters 2019 Day One preview and order of play: Oceanic hopefuls aim to shock the seeds

Right arrow

Home hero Heta claims fairy-tale Brisbane Masters title

Brisbane Darts Masters 2019 Day Two preview and order of play: Final eight do battle in Brisbane

Jamie Shaw in Brisbane Masters 02 Dec 2019
Cross aims to maintain his unbeaten record against Barney (credit:Lawrence Lustig/PDC)
The first of three consecutive Oceanic World Series events draws to a close on Saturday as the eight remaining players vie to be crowned Brisbane Masters champion.
Day One of the season’s third World Series event saw two of the eight PDC seeds crash out and the defending champion survive a major scare.
It promises to be an unmissable climax at the Brisbane Convention & Exhibition Centre as the Quarter-Finals, Semis and final take centre stage.
Rob Cross is bidding to retain the title and make it back-to-back televised triumphs following on from last month’s World Matchplay, and ‘Voltage’ steps up his quest with a clash against retiring legend Raymond van Barneveld.
World number two Cross came from 4-2 down to defeat qualifier James Bailey in a last leg decider on Friday, taking out 110 to seal the win.
He now puts his unbeaten record against Barney on the line, having won six and drawn one of their seven previous meetings over the past two years.
Van Barneveld began his final competitive trip to Australia with a 6-2 win over New Zealand World Cup star Haupai Puha, but knows he must improve on an average of just 90 if he is to stop the rot against Cross over the extended format.
World Champion Michael van Gerwen is looking to end his 79-day wait for a PDC title but faces a tough test against fellow Premier League star Daryl Gurney in the Last Eight.
Van Gerwen got off to a perfect start by whitewashing Ben Robb in Round One but will be eyeing an improvement on his 95 average against a player who has beaten him in televised competition three times in the last nine months.
Gurney, still licking his wounds after his Semi-Final heartbreak at the Matchplay, began his first campaign Down Under with a 6-4 defeat of New Zealand’s Koha Kokiri and will fancy his chances of inflicting another early exit on the world number one if he can brush up on his patchy finishing.
An all-Aussie show-down kicks off finals day in Brisbane as the host nation’s tungsten talisman Simon Whitlock takes on his World Cup team-mate Kyle Anderson.
Whitlock, making his first World Series appearance of the season, needed an average of just 87 to dispose of his close friend Brendon McCausland 6-1 on Friday and now has his sights set on a fifth straight win over ‘The Original’.
Anderson, who defeated Whitlock en route to Auckland Masters glory in 2017, continued his love affair with the World Series by dispatching Peter Wright in Round One after surviving five match darts from the Scot.
The world number 28 is appearing in his first televised Quarter-Final since this very event 12 months ago – when he was denied by Van Gerwen at this stage.
Reigning Champions League of Darts champion Gary Anderson aims to complete a Brisbane double over Damon Heta when the pair collide for the second year running at the BCEC.
Anderson denied Heta in a last-leg decider a year ago having prevailed 10-7 in the Quarter-Finals of the Melbourne Masters a week earlier.
The World Cup of Darts winner reeled off six consecutive legs to thrash Corey Cadby 6-1 with a 101.6 average and six from seven on the doubles and will be keen to replicate that ruthless form on Saturday.
Heta, a winner of three DPA titles this year, produced a spectacular 164 checkout to turn the tide and pave the way for a 6-5 scalp of James Wade in Round One and will be determined to make it third time lucky against the two-time World Champion.
The action gets underway from 10am BST (7pm local time), with all matches to be contested over the best of 15 legs.
Television coverage in the UK is delayed until 7pm, however you can watch every match LIVE via the link below.

Brisbane Darts Masters 2019 Match Schedule

Saturday August 10
Kyle Anderson v Simon Whitlock
Damon Heta v Gary Anderson
Rob Cross v Raymond van Barneveld
Daryl Gurney v Michael van Gerwen
K Anderson/Whitlock v Heta/G Anderson
Cross/Van Barneveld v Gurney/Van Gerwen