Left arrow

Players Championship 22 Draw: The First Round line-up for Sunday’s ProTour event in Hildesheim

Right arrow

Brisbane Darts Masters 2019 Day Two preview and order of play: Final eight do battle in Brisbane

Brisbane Darts Masters 2019 Day One preview and order of play: Oceanic hopefuls aim to shock the seeds

Jamie Shaw in Brisbane Masters 02 Dec 2019
Anderson and Cadby collide (credit:Chris Dean/PDC)
The first of the three annual Oceanic World Series events gets underway on Friday as the PDC stars and home hopefuls collide in Brisbane.
The second staging of the Brisbane Masters features eight of the PDC’s elite throwers alongside eight of Australia and New Zealand’s talents as they battle it out for the £20,000 top prize.
The stand-out tie of the opening round features a repeat of last year’s UK Open final as Gary Anderson takes on home hero Corey Cadby.
Anderson, the reigning Champions League of Darts champion, looks to bounce back from his early exit in last month’s World Matchplay by challenging for glory on his return Down Under.
He takes on ‘King’ Cadby for the first time since their final show-down in Minehead 15 months ago as the Aussie ace bids for revenge on home soil in his first PDC tournament since late June.
The winner of that box office clash will face either reigning World Series Finals champion James Wade or in-form qualifier Damon Heta in Saturday’s Quarter-Finals.
Heta has claimed three titles on the DPA circuit this season, storming into the number one domestic ranking, and took Gary Anderson to a last-leg decider here 12 months ago.
Wade has four Players Championship titles to his name in 2019 and was a semi-finalist in last month’s German Masters, but will wary of the threat posed by the Perth star.
Rob Cross, the newly-crowned World Matchplay champion, begins the defence of his Brisbane crown with a clash against 2018 Oceanic Masters champion James Bailey – who went on to feature in the World Championship.
Michael van Gerwen, whose last PDC title came at the Premier League back in May, looks to send out a statement of intent by brushing aside New Zealand qualifier Ben Robb – who made his TV debut in last year’s Auckland Masters.
Raymond van Barneveld, runner-up in Auckland 12 months ago, begins his farewell tour Down Under with a tricky tie against Haupai Puha – who was part of the New Zealand team that reached the Quarter-Finals of the PDC World Cup in June.
German Masters winner Peter Wright starts his pursuit of back-to-back World Series titles with a show-down against former Auckland Masters champion Kyle Anderson in another tasty prospect.
European Championship finalist Simon Whitlock opens up with an all-Aussie show-down against his old friend and DPA qualifier Brendon McCausland.
Players Champion Daryl Gurney gets his first taste of Oceanic action when he takes on New Zealand’s Koha Kokiri, a winner of a DPA event this year who is making his fourth appearance in a World Series event.
The action gets underway from 10am BST (7pm local time), with First Round matches to be contested over the best of 11 legs.
Television coverage in the UK is delayed until 7pm, however you can watch every match LIVE via the link below.

Brisbane Darts Masters 2019 Match Schedule

Friday August 9
First Round
10.15am Raymond van Barneveld v Haupai Puha
10.45am Daryl Gurney v Koha Kokiri
11.15am James Wade v Damon Heta
11.45am Simon Whitlock v Brendon McCausland
12.15pm Rob Cross v James Bailey
12.45pm Michael van Gerwen v Ben Robb
1.15pm Gary Anderson v Corey Cadby
1.45pm Peter Wright v Kyle Anderson