Price completes Players Championship double in Barnsley

Jamie Shaw in PDC Darts News 24 Feb 2019
Price celebrates a dominant weekend (credit:Lawrence Lustig/PDC)

Gerwyn Price completed an historic Players Championship double by making it back-to-back titles, defeating Ricky Evans 8-4 in Sunday's final in Barnsley.

Price had overcome Germany's Gabriel Clemens in Saturday's decider and maintained his blistering run of form to join an elite group of players to have clinched successive ProTour titles in the same weekend.

The red hot Welshman recorded a total of ten ton-plus averages in his 14 wins over the weekend and stretches his unbeaten run to 17 games in all competitions.

Price put the gloss on the victory with a magnificent 170 checkout in the last leg of the final as he denied Evans a first senior PDC title.

"To get over the line with a 170 finish, I couldn't have asked for anything better," said Price.

"It's just me believing in my own ability and this weekend proves that I can actually play pretty well at times.

"Last weekend I played well on the Sunday and I've carried it on all day yesterday and today.

"I'm looking forward to next weekend now and hopefully I can carry this form into the Premier League.

"Hopefully now for the rest of the year I can keep performing, hopefully get another major and not get slammed for it."

The Grand Slam champion began the day by edging past Harry Ward 6-5, before a stunning 112.7 average saw Price whitewash Austria's Zoran Lerchbacher 6-0.

The Welsh number one, made it back-to-back whitewash wins against Josh Payne before a fourth consecutive ton-plus average saw Price power past David Pallett 6-3 to reach the Quarter-Finals.

There, he overcame rival Adrian Lewis 6-4 and followed it up with a 106 average to comfortably defeat Nathan Aspinall 7-2 in the Semi-Finals.

Price raced into a 4-0 lead in the final before Evans hit back with three legs in a row, including a 105 checkout, to close the gap.

Price resumed normal service with finishes of 60 and 105 to make it 6-3, and after 'The Ice Man' clinched leg ten, he then squandered seven match darts to allow Evans off the hook.

However, he atoned for those misses in sensational style in the next, crashing in a 170 checkout to seal the deal.

Evans, appearing in his first ProTour final since 2013, saw off the likes Daryl Gurney and Krzysztof Ratajski en route to the Quarter-finals, where he overcame Kyle Anderson and then Danny Noppert to reach the decider.

Ritchie Edhouse became the third player of the weekend to achieve a nine-darter in his Last 16 clash with Noppert, but went on to suffer a 6-4 defeat.

Meanwhile, there were shock First Round exits for the likes of Peter Wright, Mensur Suljovic and Raymond van Barneveld.

Players Championship Six Results

Sunday February 24

First Round
White, Ian 6-2 Woodhouse, Luke
Bunse, Christian 4-6 Edhouse, Ritchie
Mansell, Mickey 6-5 Klaasen, Jelle
Murschell, Dawson 4-6 Hudson, Peter
King, Mervyn 6-1 Wilson, Mark
Derry, Nathan 4-6 Smith, Ross
Noppert, Danny 6-3 Van Baelen, Davy
Lewis, Jamie 6-4 Van der Meer, Vincent
Clayton, Jonny 6-1 Carroll, Shaun
Rafferty, Nathan 6-1 Murnan, Joe
De Zwaan, Jeffrey 6-1 Temple, Terry
Brown, Keegan 6-3 Pipe, Justin
Hopp, Max 6-1 Jones, Wayne
Worsley, Jonathan 5-6 Evetts, Ted
Henderson, John 6-4 Dekker, Jan
Reyes, Cristo 6-2 Huybrechts, Ronny
Cross, Rob 6-0 Owen, Robert
Monk, Arron 6-4 Prins, Dave
Ratajski, Krzysztof 6-2 Newell, Tony
Clark, Matt 6-1 Brooks, Bradley
Gurney, Daryl 6-2 Humphries, Luke
Van den Bergh, Dimitri 3-6 Dudbridge, Mark
Evans, Ricky 6-1 Gray, Adrian
Baker, Scott 6-1 Labanauskas, Darius
Suljovic, Mensur 4-6 Kuivenhoven, Maik
Hunt, Adam 6-3 Thornton, Robert
Anderson, Kyle 6-4 O'Connor, William
Michael, John 3-6 Razma, Madars
Whitlock, Simon 6-1 Burness, Kevin
Meeuwisse, Yordi 3-6 North, Richard
Wilson, James 6-3 Shepherd, Kirk
Rodriguez, Rowby John 6-3 Burton, Stephen
Wright, Peter 4-6 Van de Pas, Benito
Kamphuis, Vincent 6-5 Robinson, Reece
Schindler, Martin 3-6 Webster, Mark
Eastwood, Gary 1-6 Van Duijvenbode, Dirk
Wattimena, Jermaine 6-2 Van Barneveld, Raymond
Bain, Jamie 5-6 Edgar, Matthew
Bunting, Stephen 1-6 Carlin, Gavin
Harrington, Ryan 0-6 Tabern, Alan
Smith, Michael 4-6 Meulenkamp, Ron
Richardson, James 1-6 Dootson, Eddie
Dobey, Chris 6-3 Dolan, Brendan
De Sousa, Jose 6-5 McGeeney, Mark
Cullen, Joe 6-0 Petersen, Devon
Zonneveld, Niels 2-6 Boulton, Andy
Lennon, Steve 6-3 Koltsov, Boris
Aspinall, Nathan 6-5 Alcinas, Toni
Lewis, Adrian 6-2 Robbe, Mario
Huybrechts, Kim 6-5 Norris, Alan
Clemens , Gabriel 6-5 Hughes, Jamie
Killington, George 0-6 Durrant, Glen
Chisnall, Dave 6-4 Van Duivenbode, Mike
Barnard, Michael 2-6 Joyce, Ryan
Beaton, Steve 4-6 Meikle, Ryan
Marijanovic, Robert 6-3 Wilkinson, Carl
Price, Gerwyn 6-5 Ward, Harry
Stevenson, Simon 1-6 Lerchbacher, Zoran
Payne, Josh 6-5 Searle, Ryan
Kantele, Marko 4-6 Kanik, Tytus
Webster, Darren 3-6 Whitehead, Conan
Van der Voort, Vincent 3-6 Nentjes, Geert
West, Steve 3-6 Pallett, David
Bates, Barrie 6-3 Justicia, Jose

Second Round
Edhouse, Ritchie 6-5 White, Ian
Mansell, Mickey 6-2 Hudson, Peter
Smith, Ross 6-3 King, Mervyn
Noppert, Danny 6-1 Lewis, Jamie
Clayton, Jonny 6-4 Rafferty, Nathan
Brown, Keegan 6-2 De Zwaan, Jeffrey
Hopp, Max 6-5 Evetts, Ted
Henderson, John 6-2 Reyes, Cristo
Cross, Rob 6-4 Monk, Arron
Ratajski, Krzysztof 6-3 Clark, Matt
Gurney, Daryl 6-2 Dudbridge, Mark
Evans, Ricky 6-2 Baker, Scott
Kuivenhoven, Maik 6-5 Hunt, Adam
Anderson, Kyle 6-3 Razma, Madars
Whitlock, Simon 6-3 North, Richard
Rodriguez, Rowby John 6-2 Wilson, James
van de Pas, Benito 6-1 Kamphuis, Vincent
van Duijvenbode, Dirk 6-1 Webster, Mark
Wattimena, Jermaine 6-1 Edgar, Matthew
Carlin, Gavin 6-5 Tabern, Alan
Dootson, Eddie 6-5 Meulenkamp, Ron
Dobey, Chris 6-4 De Sousa, Jose
Cullen, Joe 6-5 Boulton, Andy
Aspinall, Nathan 6-3 Lennon, Steve
Lewis, Adrian 6-3 Huybrechts, Kim
Clemens , Gabriel 6-5 Durrant, Glen
Joyce, Ryan 6-5 Chisnall, Dave
Meikle, Ryan 6-1 Marijanovic, Robert
Price, Gerwyn 6-0 Lerchbacher, Zoran
Payne, Josh 6-4 Kanik, Tytus
Whitehead, Conan 6-3 Nentjes, Geert
Pallett, David 6-3 Bates, Barrie
Losers: £500

Last 32
Edhouse, Ritchie 6-2 Mansell, Mickey
Noppert, Danny 6-1 Smith, Ross
Clayton, Jonny 6-5 Brown, Keegan
Henderson, John 6-4 Hopp, Max
Ratajski, Krzysztof 6-2 Cross, Rob
Evans, Ricky 6-5 Gurney, Daryl
Anderson, Kyle 6-1 Kuivenhoven, Maik
Rodriguez, Rowby John 6-4 Whitlock, Simon
van de Pas, Benito 6-5 Van Duijvenbode, Dirk
Wattimena, Jermaine 6-3 Carlin, Gavin
Dobey, Chris 6-4 Dootson, Eddie
Aspinall, Nathan 6-1 Cullen, Joe
Lewis, Adrian 6-1 Clemens, Gabriel
Joyce, Ryan 6-5 Meikle, Ryan
Price, Gerwyn 6-0 Payne, Josh
Pallett, David 6-4 Whitehead, Conan
Losers: £1,000

Last 16
Danny Noppert 6-4 Ritchie Edhouse - *Edhouse hits a nine-darter*
John Henderson 6-5 Jonny Clayton
Ricky Evans 6-1 Krzysztof Ratajski
Kyle Anderson 6-4 Rowby-John Rodriguez
Jermaine Wattimena 6-0 Benito van de Pas
Nathan Aspinall 6-5 Chris Dobey
Adrian Lewis 6-2 Ryan Joyce
Gerwyn Price 6-3 David Pallett
Losers: £1,500

Danny Noppert 6-2 John Henderson
Ricky Evans 6-4 Kyle Anderson
Nathan Aspinall 6-3 Jermaine Wattimena
Gerwyn Price 6-4 Adrian Lewis
Losers: £2,250

Ricky Evans 7-4 Danny Noppert
Gerwyn Price 7-2 Nathan Aspinall
Losers: £3,000

Gerwyn Price 8-4 Ricky Evans
Winner: £10,000
Runner-up: £6,000

Share this with your friends

Your comments:

Price completes Players Championship double in Barnsley

Gerwyn Price completed an historic Players Championship double by making it back-to-back titles, defeating Ricky Evans 8-4 in Sunday's final in Barnsley.

Read more »

You have unread messages

You have unread messages