Van Gerwen denies Wade to claim Players Championship One title

Jamie Shaw in PDC Darts News 17 Feb 2018
MVG makes it 31 wins from 33 games in 2018 (credit:Lawrence Lustig/PDC)

Michael van Gerwen claimed his fourth title of the season at Players Championship One courtesy of a 6-4 victory over James Wade in the final.

Bet £10 and get £20 in Bonus Funds when you join BetVictor > Sports

The world number one followed up his Unibet Masters triumph and brace of UK Open Qualifying wins by storming to the £10,000 top prize in Barnsley on Saturday.

Just 48 hours after defeating Gary Anderson in an epic Premier League contest, 'Mighty Mike' picked up from where he left off, dropping just one leg in the opening three rounds.

Van Gerwen began with back-to-back whitewashes of Terry Temple and Jermaine Wattimena and thrashed Josh Payne 6-1 before fending off a valiant effort from former Lakeside finalist Danny Noppert in a 6-4 win.

He then resumed normal service by whitewashing Dave Chisnall in the Quarter-Finals, before ousting Gerwyn Price 6-3 to secure his spot in the final.

Despite landing a maximum in the opening leg of the final, Van Gerwen missed two darts at doubles to hand Wade an immediate break of throw on double 12.

However, he broke straight back courtesy of a second 180 and an 81 checkout for a 12-darter before following it up with double two and double 20 to create daylight at 3-1.

A further two missed doubles allowed Wade to finish 71 to peg back before the left-hander then levelled up with double 12.

Van Gerwen kicked off the seventh leg with a 180 and a 177 before converting double 16, but only for Wade to capitalise on more missed chances from the Dutchman in the next leg and restore parity.

A 68 finish saw MVG regain the upper-hand and he made no mistake in closing out the match to deny Wade a first ranking title for almost two years.

"I didn't play my best game today, the first two rounds were poor. I won both 6-0 but that doesn't mean anything," admitted Van Gerwen.

"For the rest of the day I played okay, I am really glad I won but I did miss too many doubles in the final. It's a long day and I am only human.

"There are no flights home tonight any more, so I will be back tomorrow."

Wade's run to the final began with a narrow last-leg defeat of Paul Rowley before seeing off Spain's Antonio Alcinas by a 6-2 scoreline.

He then thrashed Chris Dobey 6-0 and John Henderson 6-1 before edging out World Champion Rob Cross in a deciding leg and ending the landmark run of PDC newcomer Ryan Joyce in the Semi-Finals.

Joyce, a former BDO player who earned a Tour Card at Qualifying School, beat Steve West, Ryan Harrington, Wayne Jones, Michael Barnard and Ron Meulenkamp to scoop £3,000.

Adrian Lewis hit eight 180s and averaged 111 in a 6-2 win over Jose Antonio Perales in their Second Round grudge clash before eventually bowing out at the hands of Keegan Brown.

Players Championship One 2018 Results

Saturday February 18

First Round
Michael van Gerwen 6-0 Terry Temple
Jermaine Wattimena 6-1 Chris Quantock
Peter Jacques 6-3 Zoran Lerchbacher
Josh Payne 6-4 Dirk van Duijvenbode
Danny Noppert 6-2 Alan Norris
Ross Smith 6-1 Lee Bryant
Robert Marijanovic 6-1 Darren Webster
William O'Connor 6-5 Gabriel Clemens
Dave Chisnall 6-0 John Goldie
Brendan Dolan 6-1 Adam Hunt
Raymond van Barneveld 6-2 Vincent van der Voort
Tytus Kanik 6-4 Joe Murnan
Simon Whitlock 6-4 Devon Petersen
Keegan Brown 6-5 Christian Kist
Adrian Lewis 6-4 Jamie Lewis
Jose Antonio Perales 6-3 John Part
Rowby-John Rodriguez 6-5 Daryl Gurney
Jamie Bain 6-4 Ronny Huybrechts
James Wilson 6-2 Davy Van Baelen
Tony Newell 6-5 Jason Cullen
Ian White 6-4 Aden Kirk
Madars Razma 6-5 Dimitri Van den Bergh
Jonny Clayton 6-4 Prakash Jiwa
Nathan Aspinall 6-5 Jeffrey de Graaf
Michael Smith 6-1 Ronnie Baxter
Vincent Kamphuis 6-4 Sven Groen
Stephen Burton 6-1 Justin Pipe
Mark Wilson 6-2 Jamie Caven
Gerwyn Price 6-5 Paul Nicholson
Martin Atkins (Wigan) 6-4 Scott Darbyshire
Stephen Bunting 6-2 Martin Schindler
Robert Owen 6-4 Jan Dekker
Peter Wright 6-0 Ryan Searle
Wayne Jones 6-5 Luke Humphries
Ryan Joyce 6-4 Steve West
Ryan Harrington 6-4 Ricky Evans
Kyle Anderson 6-4 Mickey Mansell
Corey Cadby 6-0 Mick McGowan
Steve Beaton 6-2 Darren Johnson
Michael Barnard 6-4 Dawson Murschell
Kim Huybrechts 6-3 Ryan Meikle
Kirk Shepherd 6-4 Diogo Portela
Ron Meulenkamp 6-4 Richard North
Alan Tabern 6-0 Bradley Brooks
Mervyn King 6-1 Max Hopp
Terry Jenkins 6-5 Maik Langendorf
Cristo Reyes 6-2 Eddie Dootson
Kevin Painter 6-5 Luke Woodhouse
Chris Dobey 6-5 Joe Cullen
George Killington 6-4 Scott Taylor
James Wade 6-5 Paul Rowley
Antonio Alcinas 6-5 Matthew Edgar
Robbie Green 6-5 Jelle Klaasen
Peter Hudson 6-5 Mark Webster
John Henderson 6-0 Steve Hine
Ritchie Edhouse 6-3 Jeffrey de Zwaan
Rob Cross 6-5 Steve Lennon
Richie Burnett 6-3 James Richardson
Mario Robbe 6-2 Robert Thornton
Arron Monk 6-4 Simon Stevenson
Gary Anderson 6-3 Mark Dudbridge
Andrew Gilding 6-4 Jimmy Hendriks
Benito van de Pas 6-1 Gary Eastwood
Jim Brown 6-2 Ross Twell

Second Round
Michael van Gerwen 6-0 Jermaine Wattimena
Josh Payne 6-3 Peter Jacques
Danny Noppert 6-4 Ross Smith
William O'Connor 6-4 Robert Marijanovic
Dave Chisnall 6-5 Brendan Dolan
Raymond van Barneveld 6-4 Tytus Kanik
Keegan Brown 6-4 Simon Whitlock
Adrian Lewis 6-2 Jose Antonio Perales
Jamie Bain 6-1 Rowby-John Rodriguez
James Wilson 6-1 Tony Newell
Ian White 6-4 Madars Razma
Jonny Clayton 6-3 Nathan Aspinall
Michael Smith 6-5 Vincent Kamphuis
Stephen Burton 6-0 Mark Wilson
Gerwyn Price 6-2 Martin Atkins (Wigan)
Stephen Bunting 6-4 Robert Owen
Wayne Jones 6-4 Peter Wright
Ryan Joyce 6-1 Ryan Harrington
Kyle Anderson 6-4 Corey Cadby
Michael Barnard 6-5 Steve Beaton
Kim Huybrechts 6-3 Kirk Shepherd
Ron Meulenkamp 6-2 Alan Tabern
Terry Jenkins 6-2 Mervyn King
Cristo Reyes 6-4 Kevin Painter
Chris Dobey 6-2 George Killington
James Wade 6-2 Antonio Alcinas
Peter Hudson 6-4 Robbie Green
John Henderson 6-1 Ritchie Edhouse
Rob Cross 6-2 Richie Burnett
Arron Monk 6-4 Mario Robbe
Gary Anderson 6-1 Andrew Gilding
Benito van de Pas 6-3 Jim Brown
Losers: £500

Last 32
Michael van Gerwen 6-1 Josh Payne
Danny Noppert 6-5 William O'Connor
Dave Chisnall 6-1 Raymond van Barneveld
Keegan Brown 6-3 Adrian Lewis
James Wilson 6-2 Jamie Bain
Ian White 6-2 Jonny Clayton
Michael Smith 6-1 Stephen Burton
Gerwyn Price 6-3 Stephen Bunting
Ryan Joyce 6-1 Wayne Jones
Michael Barnard 6-0 Kyle Anderson
Ron Meulenkamp 6-1 Kim Huybrechts
Terry Jenkins 6-3 Cristo Reyes
James Wade 6-1 Chris Dobey
John Henderson 6-2 Peter Hudson
Rob Cross 6-2 Arron Monk
Benito van de Pas 6-5 Gary Anderson
Losers: £1,000

Last 16
Michael van Gerwen 6-4 Danny Noppert
Dave Chisnall 6-5 Keegan Brown
Ian White 6-1 James Wilson
Gerwyn Price 6-5 Michael Smith
Ryan Joyce 6-5 Michael Barnard
Ron Meulenkamp 6-4 Terry Jenkins
James Wade 6-0 John Henderson
Rob Cross 6-1 Benito van de Pas
Losers: £1,500

Michael van Gerwen 6-0 Dave Chisnall
Gerwyn Price 6-3 Ian White
Ryan Joyce 6-4 Ron Meulenkamp
James Wade 6-5 Rob Cross
Losers: £2,250

Michael van Gerwen 6-3 Gerwyn Price
James Wade 6-4 Ryan Joyce
Losers: £3,000

Michael van Gerwen 6-4 James Wade
Winner: £10,000
Runner-up: £6,000

BONUS BETS United States
Change Location

Share this with your friends

Your comments:

Van Gerwen denies Wade to claim Players Championship One title

Michael van Gerwen claimed his fourth title of the season at Players Championship One courtesy of a 6-4 victory over James Wade in the final.

Read more »

You have unread messages

You have unread messages