Rampant Ratajski clinches back-to-back Players Championship titles

Jamie Shaw in PDC Darts News 21 Oct 2018
Ratajski secures a memorable double in Barnsley (credit:Lawrence Lustig/PDC)

Krzysztof Ratajski completed a sensational Players Championship double in Barnsley with a 6-4 victory over Adrian Lewis in the final on Sunday.

The Polish star joined an elite band of players to have won successive ProTour events in the same weekend as he followed up Saturday's triumph by claiming glory in the final Players Championship event of the year.

Ratajski, a non-Tour Card holder, is now assured of a place in the Players Championship Finals as well as a provisional Grand Slam place and also moves into the world's top 64.

"I don't know what can I say," admitted a speechless Ratajski. "I still can't believe it. 

"I don't know how I did it. If I go to the Grand Slam of Darts it would be something impossible for me."

He began his run with 6-2 victories over Cameron Menzies and Zoran Lerchbacher before seeing off Terry Temple 6-3.

Ratajski then overcame Premier League star Daryl Gurney 6-4 to reach the Quarter-Finals - where he dispatched another top eight star in Michael Smith by the same scoreline.

The Warsaw thrower went on to deny Kyle Anderson with a 6-4 triumph to confirm his place in the final.

Ratajski began the final in style with a 180 and a 97 checkout to draw first blood before Lewis levelled with double four.

A 70 finish saw the Pole regain the upper-hand before 'Jackpot' replied with a 76 finish for another hold of throw.

Lewis was then punished for three missed darts at tops as Ratajski landed double 16, though the two-time World Champion hit back with a 180 and a 97 checkout to make it 3-3.

The duo traded the next two legs before Ratajski converted double 16 to move within a leg of victory - which he duly sealed in the following leg to prompt emotional celebrations.

Lewis fell short at the final hurdle for the fourth time this year, extending his 18-month wait for a PDC ranking title.

The Stoke ace overcame Chris Quantock 6-3 in Round One before edging out Robert Thornton in a last-leg decider and dispatching Jamie Hughes 6-3.

He then defeated Jamie Bain in the Last 16 by the same scoreline before seeing off fellow multiple major winner James Wade 6-4 and completing his passage to the final with a 6-3 defeat of Luke Humphries.

The day also witnessed a nine-dart finish as Jimmy Hendriks produced a perfect leg in his First Round win over Mark Wilson.

Scott Taylor held on to the 64th and final place in November's Players Championship Finals ahead of Benito van de Pas and Luke Woodhouse - who missed out on the countback rule.

The likes of Alan Tabern, Matthew Edgar, Toni Alcinas and Adam Hunt also secured their spot in the main event in Minehead next month.

Players Championship 22 Results

Sunday October 21

First Round
Devon Petersen 6-5 Ian White
Peter Hudson 6-2 Ryan Meikle
Gabriel Clemens 6-2 Prakash Jiwa
Jamie Caven 6-2 Jim Brown
Bradley Brooks 6-1 Steve West
Madars Razma 6-2 Ritchie Edhouse
James Wilson 6-5 Dennis Nilsson
Lee Budgen 6-2 Scott Darbyshire
Vincent van der Voort 6-3 Jonny Clayton
Davy Van Baelen 6-1 Ryan Searle
Chris Dobey 6-2 Alan Norris
Kirk Shepherd 6-0 Terry Jenkins
Rowby-John Rodriguez 6-4 Simon Whitlock
Jason Cullen 6-1 Adam Huckvale
Luke Humphries 6-5 Steve Lennon
Jarred Cole 6-2 Robert Owen
Adrian Lewis 6-3 Chris Quantock
Robert Thornton 6-2 Peter Jacques
Jelle Klaasen 6-3 Luke Woodhouse
Jamie Hughes 6-3 Benito van de Pas
Dave Chisnall 6-2 Jeffrey de Graaf
Jamie Bain 6-3 Richard North
Jeffrey de Zwaan 6-3 Paul Nicholson
Ryan Harrington 6-1 Ross Twell
James Wade 6-3 Michael Barnard
Eddie Dootson 6-3 Mark Dudbridge
Ronny Huybrechts 6-5 Ryan Joyce
Dawson Murschell 6-3 Christian Kist
Mervyn King 6-4 Arron Monk
Andrew Gilding 6-5 John Davey
Ricky Evans 6-3 Tytus Kanik
Toni Alcinas 6-3 Adam Hunt
Michael Smith 6-4 George Killington
Jimmy Hendriks 6-1 Mark Wilson
Kim Huybrechts 6-5 Jamie Lewis
Robert Marijanovic 6-4 John Norman Jnr
Stephen Bunting 6-3 Ron Meulenkamp
Vincent Kamphuis 6-4 Maik Langendorf
Steve Beaton 6-3 Simon Preston
Darren Johnson 6-2 Richie Burnett
Daryl Gurney 6-3 Dimitri Van den Bergh
Ted Evetts 6-1 William O'Connor
Brendan Dolan 6-5 Josh Payne
Mark Webster 6-2 Mario Robbe
Terry Temple 6-5 Joe Cullen
Scott Taylor 6-5 Martin Atkins
Krzysztof Ratajski 6-2 Cameron Menzies
Zoran Lerchbacher 6-5 Simon Stevenson
Mensur Suljovic 6-2 Tony Newell
Paul Rowley 6-4 Wayne Jones
Martin Schindler 6-3 Justin Pipe
Matthew Edgar 6-4 Kevin Burness
Diogo Portela 6-5 Darren Webster
Alan Tabern 6-1 Steve Hine
Kevin Painter 6-3 John Henderson
Nathan Aspinall 6-2 Dirk van Duijvenbode
Rob Cross 6-5 Mickey Mansell
Jan Dekker 6-4 Aden Kirk
Kyle Anderson 6-1 Joe Murnan
Robbie Green 6-5 Yordi Meeuwisse
Stephen Burton 6-5 Danny Noppert
Ross Smith 6-4 Gary Eastwood
Jermaine Wattimena 6-3 Keegan Brown
David Pallett 6-1 James Richardson

Second Round
Peter Hudson 6-4 Devon Petersen
Gabriel Clemens 6-5 Jamie Caven
Madars Razma 6-5 Bradley Brooks
James Wilson 6-1 Lee Budgen
Davy Van Baelen 6-5 Vincent van der Voort
Chris Dobey 6-2 Kirk Shepherd
Rowby-John Rodriguez 6-1 Jason Cullen
Luke Humphries 6-3 Jarred Cole
Adrian Lewis 6-5 Robert Thornton
Jamie Hughes 6-4 Jelle Klaasen
Jamie Bain 6-3 Dave Chisnall
Jeffrey de Zwaan 6-2 Ryan Harrington
James Wade 6-0 Eddie Dootson
Ronny Huybrechts 6-3 Dawson Murschell
Mervyn King 6-4 Andrew Gilding
Ricky Evans 6-0 Toni Alcinas
Michael Smith 6-0 Jimmy Hendriks
Kim Huybrechts 6-5 Robert Marijanovic
Vincent Kamphuis 6-2 Stephen Bunting
Steve Beaton 6-2 Darren Johnson
Daryl Gurney 6-1 Ted Evetts
Mark Webster 6-5 Brendan Dolan
Terry Temple 6-2 Scott Taylor
Krzysztof Ratajski 6-2 Zoran Lerchbacher
Mensur Suljovic 6-4 Paul Rowley
Matthew Edgar 6-4 Martin Schindler
Diogo Portela 6-4 Alan Tabern
Kevin Painter 6-4 Nathan Aspinall
Jan Dekker 6-2 Rob Cross
Kyle Anderson 6-3 Robbie Green
Stephen Burton 6-3 Ross Smith
Jermaine Wattimena 6-5 David Pallett
Losers: £500

Last 32
Gabriel Clemens 6-4 Peter Hudson
James Wilson 6-2 Madars Razma
Chris Dobey 6-4 Davy Van Baelen
Luke Humphries 6-2 Rowby-John Rodriguez
Adrian Lewis 6-3 Jamie Hughes
Jamie Bain 6-4 Jeffrey de Zwaan
James Wade 6-4 Ronny Huybrechts
Ricky Evans 6-4 Mervyn King
Michael Smith 6-4 Kim Huybrechts
Steve Beaton 6-2 Vincent Kamphuis
Daryl Gurney 6-3 Mark Webster
Krzysztof Ratajski 6-3 Terry Temple
Mensur Suljovic 6-2 Matthew Edgar
Kevin Painter 6-4 Diogo Portela
Kyle Anderson 6-4 Jan Dekker
Jermaine Wattimena 6-4 Stephen Burton
Losers: £1,000

Last 16
James Wilson 6-5 Gabriel Clemens
Luke Humphries 6-1 Chris Dobey
Adrian Lewis 6-3 Jamie Bain
James Wade 6-4 Ricky Evans
Michael Smith 6-3 Steve Beaton
Krzysztof Ratajski 6-4 Daryl Gurney
Mensur Suljovic 6-1 Kevin Painter
Kyle Anderson 6-0 Jermaine Wattimena
Losers: £1,500

Luke Humphries 6-5 James Wilson
Adrian Lewis 6-4 James Wade
Krzysztof Ratajski 6-4 Michael Smith
Kyle Anderson 6-4 Mensur Suljovic
Losers: £2,250

Adrian Lewis 6-3 Luke Humphries
Krzysztof Ratajski 6-4 Kyle Anderson
Losers: £3,000

Krzysztof Ratajski 6-4 Adrian Lewis
Winner: £10,000
Runner-up: £6,000

Share this with your friends

Your comments:

Rampant Ratajski clinches back-to-back Players Championship titles

Krzysztof Ratajski completed a sensational Players Championship double in Barnsley with a 6-4 victory over Adrian Lewis in the final on Sunday.

Read more »

You have unread messages

You have unread messages