Polish Eagle Ratajski swoops at Players Championship 21

Ratajski adds to his title haul (credit:Lawrence Lustig/PDC)

Krzysztof Ratajski picked up his second PDC title of 2018 at Players Championship 21 with a 6-2 victory over Chris Dobey in Barnsley on Saturday.

The Polish ace, who also won a Coral UK Open Qualifier in February despite not holding a PDC Tour Card, capitalised on his chance to compete in Barnsley to scoop another £10,000 title.

The former World Masters winner had only competed in two other Players Championship events this year, without winning any prize money, but has put himself in line to qualify for the Players Championship Finals with Saturday's success.

Dobey had raced into a 2-0 lead in their final with legs of 14 and 11 darts, but Ratajski responded in brilliant fashion as he kick-started his challenge with an 11-darter of his own.

He levelled on double ten in leg four and then broke throw in 14 darts to move ahead, and landed another 11-darter as he made it six successive legs in taking the title.

Ratajski began his route to the final with wins over Madars Razma, Kirk Shepherd, James Wilson and Cameron Menzies, before seeing off William O'Connor in the quarter-finals.

He then came from 5-1 down to overcome Steve Beaton in the semi-finals, as the former Lakeside Champion paid the price for missing match darts before losing out in a decider.

Also a PDC Challenge Tour winner this year, Ratajski's success is another step towards him securing his PDC Tour Card for 2019.

"I don't believe it, really!" said the 41-year-old. "It's something impossible for me, because I think it gives me a Tour Card for next year. I'm not sure, I hope so.

"There is a really good level of players [on the Challenge Tour] and I'm sure it's helped me."

Dobey was taken to a deciding leg in three of his first four matches, against John Norman Jnr, Bradley Brooks and John Henderson, before overcoming Stephen Bunting and Martin Schindler to reach the final.

Beaton had played some fine darts on his way to a third Players Championship semi-final of the year - including fine wins over Nathan Aspinall, Terry Jenkins and Ricky Evans - only to see his hopes of glory slip away against Ratajski.

German youngster Schindler fell one game short of reaching his first Players Championship final, losing in the last four for a second time in 2018.

World number six Mensur Suljovic, former Lakeside Champion Stephen Bunting, Dutch Darts Championship runner-up Ricky Evans and Irish star William O'Connor all won through to the quarter-finals on Saturday.

The event also saw a nine-dart finish from Andrew Gilding, who achieved a perfect leg during his first round win over Mark Dudbridge.

Sunday sees the year's final Players Championship tournament take place in Barnsley, as players compete for £75,000 in prize money and spots in the Players Championship Finals and William Hill World Championship.

Players Championship 21 Results

Saturday October 20

First Round
Ian White 6-1 Prakash Jiwa
Jarred Cole 6-5 Dennis Nilsson
Richard North 6-2 Adam Huckvale
Cameron Menzies 6-0 Kevin Painter
Kirk Shepherd 6-4 Steve West
Krzysztof Ratajski 6-3 Madars Razma
James Wilson 6-1 Tytus Kanik
Peter Jacques 6-4 Dirk van Duijvenbode
Christian Kist 6-1 Jonny Clayton
Dimitri Van den Bergh 6-3 Peter Hudson
Josh Payne 6-4 Gary Eastwood
Wayne Jones 6-5 Paul Rowley
Simon Whitlock 6-4 Alan Tabern
William O'Connor 6-4 Arron Monk
Steve Lennon 6-3 George Killington
Robert Owen 6-0 Jamie Bain
Adrian Lewis 6-5 Brendan Dolan
Richie Burnett 6-4 Luke Woodhouse
Ted Evetts 6-3 Kim Huybrechts
Stephen Burton 6-3 Mario Robbe
Gary Anderson 6-1 Ryan Searle
Jamie Hughes 6-0 Aden Kirk
Ricky Evans 6-3 Jim Brown
Jan Dekker 6-4 Jimmy Hendriks
Zoran Lerchbacher 6-4 James Wade
Terry Jenkins 6-2 Kevin Burness
Kyle Anderson 6-3 John Davey
Ryan Meikle 6-5 Jeffrey de Graaf
Dave Chisnall 6-0 Ronny Huybrechts
Nathan Aspinall 6-1 Steve Hine
Steve Beaton 6-4 Robbie Green
Justin Pipe 6-5 Tony Newell
Michael Smith 6-3 Devon Petersen
Luke Humphries 6-2 Paul Nicholson
Matthew Edgar 6-4 Keegan Brown
Jamie Caven 6-5 Dawson Murschell
Danny Noppert 6-5 Maik Langendorf
Joe Murnan 6-3 Ryan Harrington
Stephen Bunting 6-4 Ron Meulenkamp
Mickey Mansell 6-2 Jamie Lewis
Simon Preston 6-3 Daryl Gurney
Mark Wilson 6-4 Ross Twell
Bradley Brooks 6-3 Jelle Klaasen
Chris Dobey 6-5 John Norman Jnr
Joe Cullen 6-3 Vincent Kamphuis
Andrew Gilding 6-4 Mark Dudbridge
John Henderson 6-4 Chris Quantock
Diogo Portela 6-3 Terry Temple
Mensur Suljovic 6-2 Lee Budgen
Ross Smith 6-4 Robert Thornton
Ryan Joyce 6-1 Yordi Meeuwisse
Rowby-John Rodriguez 6-3 Scott Taylor
Darren Webster 6-2 Scott Darbyshire
Benito van de Pas 6-0 Alan Norris
Jeffrey de Zwaan 6-5 Robert Marijanovic
Vincent van der Voort 6-5 Michael Barnard
Gabriel Clemens 6-4 Rob Cross
Jason Cullen 6-4 Davy Van Baelen
Martin Schindler 6-1 Eddie Dootson
Simon Stevenson 6-3 Martin Atkins (Wigan)
Adam Hunt 6-5 Mervyn King
James Richardson 6-0 Darren Johnson
Jermaine Wattimena 6-3 Ritchie Edhouse
Toni Alcinas 6-3 Mark Webster

Second Round
Jarred Cole 6-3 Ian White
Cameron Menzies 6-4 Richard North
Krzysztof Ratajski 6-1 Kirk Shepherd
James Wilson 6-3 Peter Jacques
Dimitri Van den Bergh 6-5 Christian Kist
Josh Payne 6-4 Wayne Jones
William O'Connor 6-5 Simon Whitlock
Steve Lennon 6-3 Robert Owen
Adrian Lewis 6-2 Richie Burnett
Stephen Burton 6-4 Ted Evetts
Gary Anderson 6-4 Jamie Hughes
Ricky Evans 6-4 Jan Dekker
Terry Jenkins 6-3 Zoran Lerchbacher
Ryan Meikle 6-4 Kyle Anderson
Nathan Aspinall 6-5 Dave Chisnall
Steve Beaton 6-2 Justin Pipe
Michael Smith 6-5 Luke Humphries
Jamie Caven 6-5 Matthew Edgar
Danny Noppert 6-2 Joe Murnan
Stephen Bunting 6-2 Mickey Mansell
Simon Preston 6-3 Mark Wilson
Chris Dobey 6-5 Bradley Brooks
Andrew Gilding 6-3 Joe Cullen
John Henderson 6-5 Diogo Portela
Mensur Suljovic 6-5 Ross Smith
Rowby-John Rodriguez 6-2 Ryan Joyce
Darren Webster 6-0 Benito van de Pas
Vincent van der Voort 6-3 Jeffrey de Zwaan
Gabriel Clemens 6-4 Jason Cullen
Martin Schindler 6-2 Simon Stevenson
Adam Hunt 6-2 James Richardson
Jermaine Wattimena 6-4 Toni Alcinas
Losers: £500

Last 32
Cameron Menzies 6-1 Jarred Cole
Krzysztof Ratajski 6-4 James Wilson
Dimitri Van den Bergh 6-1 Josh Payne
William O'Connor 6-4 Steve Lennon
Stephen Burton 6-5 Adrian Lewis
Ricky Evans 6-5 Gary Anderson
Terry Jenkins 6-3 Ryan Meikle
Steve Beaton 6-1 Nathan Aspinall
Michael Smith 6-1 Jamie Caven
Stephen Bunting 6-1 Danny Noppert
Chris Dobey 6-3 Simon Preston
John Henderson 6-4 Andrew Gilding
Mensur Suljovic 6-2 Rowby-John Rodriguez
Vincent van der Voort 6-3 Darren Webster
Martin Schindler 6-2 Gabriel Clemens
Adam Hunt 6-3 Jermaine Wattimena
Losers: £1,000

Last 16
Krzysztof Ratajski 6-3 Cameron Menzies
William O'Connor 6-1 Dimitri Van den Bergh
Ricky Evans 6-3 Stephen Burton
Steve Beaton 6-2 Terry Jenkins
Stephen Bunting 6-5 Michael Smith
Chris Dobey 6-5 John Henderson
Mensur Suljovic 6-1 Vincent van der Voort
Martin Schindler 6-3 Adam Hunt
Losers: £1,500

Krzysztof Ratajski 6-4 William O'Connor
Steve Beaton 6-5 Ricky Evans
Chris Dobey 6-2 Stephen Bunting
Martin Schindler 6-4 Mensur Suljovic
Losers: £2,250

Krzysztof Ratajski 6-5 Steve Beaton
Chris Dobey 6-4 Martin Schindler
Losers: £3,000

Krzysztof Ratajski 6-2 Chris Dobey
Winner: £10,000
Runner-up: £6,000

Share this with your friends

Your comments:

Polish Eagle Ratajski swoops at Players Championship 21

Krzysztof Ratajski picked up his second PDC title of 2018 at Players Championship 21 with a 6-2 victory over Chris Dobey in Barnsley on Saturday.

Read more »

You have unread messages

You have unread messages