Wonderful Ward claims first PDC ranking title at Players Championship 16

Jamie Shaw in PDC Darts News 19 May 2019
Ward adds his name to the roll of honour (credit:PDC)

Harry Ward became the latest new winner of a PDC ranking title as he claimed glory at Players Championship 16 in Barnsley with an 8-7 defeat of Max Hopp in the final.

Ward, 21, secured his PDC Tour Card at Qualifying School in January and enjoyed the biggest win of his young career by securing the £10,000 title on Sunday.

The world number 88, a bricklayer by trade, saw off three PDC title winners on his way to glory and admitted: "This is unreal, I'm so, so happy to win this title.

"Max is a great player and it was a really tough final, and after I missed three darts for the match I began to doubt myself a bit.

"I rode my luck at times but that's what you have to do sometimes and I'm really pleased that I made the most of it.

"I went to Q School without expecting to win a Tour Card so to achieve what I have done over the past few months is fantastic for me, and now I want to kick on further."

Defeats of Vincent Kamphuis, Madars Razma and James Richardson led Ward to a meeting with World Championship runner-up Michael Smith in the Last 16, where a stunning 145 checkout in the deciding leg handed him victory.

Ward then overcame UK Open champion Nathan Aspinall 6-5 and followed that up with a 7-4 win over Jose de Sousa in the Semi-Finals.

The Derbyshire ace began the final in style with a 133 checkout en route to a 2-0 lead, before Hopp hit back to level.

The duo traded the next two legs before Ward fired in a 117 checkout to move 4-3 up, and back-to-back 13-darters saw him pull further clear.

Hopp hit back with three consecutive legs, including a sublime 150 checkout, to restore parity, and after Ward hit double four to regain the upper-hand, the German number one replied with double ten to force a decider.

Hopp piled on the pressure with visits of 180 and 125, but Ward was unshaken as he took out 68 to seal a memorable triumph.

It was also a significant day for Robert Thornton, who returned to form with a win over Michael van Gerwen in the Last 32, which he followed with the third nine-dart finish of his career in a 6-3 win over Krzyszytof Ratakski.

The former UK Open and World Grand Prix champion then defeated Chris Dobey to reach his first PDC Semi-Final for almost two years - where he was eventually defeated by Hopp.

Back-to-back Quarter-Final appearances across the weekend for Dobey move him into the world's top 32 for the first time, Challenge Tour high-flyer Scott Taylor reached his second ProTour Quarter-Final and Portgual's De Sousa reached his first PDC semi-final.

There was contrasting fortunes for Saturday's champion Glen Durrant as he suffered a First Round exit at the hands of Poland's Tytus Kanik.

Players Championship 16 Results

Sunday May 19

First Round
Van Gerwen, Michael 6-3 Webster, Mark
Lewis, Jamie 6-4 Wilkinson, Carl
Burton, Stephen 6-5 Anderson, Kyle
Thornton, Robert 6-3 Derry, Nathan
Ratajski, Krzysztof 6-3 Monk, Arron
Norris, Alan 6-2 Clemens , Gabriel
De Zwaan, Jeffrey 6-5 Michael, John
Harrington, Ryan 6-1 Askew, Jason
Clayton, Jonny 6-5 Clark, Matt
Boulton, Andy 6-1 North, Richard
Mansell, Mickey 6-3 Wilson, James
Petersen, Devon 6-4 Zonneveld, Niels
Beaton, Steve 6-3 Kuivenhoven, Maik
Huybrechts, Kim 6-4 Baker, Scott
Dobey, Chris 6-2 Van Baelen, Davy
Cadby, Corey 6-2 Huybrechts, Ronny
Chisnall, Dave 6-4 Van Barneveld, Raymond
Kist, Christian 6-4 Meulenkamp, Ron
Payne, Josh 6-5 Johnson, Darren
Dekker, Jan 6-4 Meeuwisse, Yordi
Brooks, Bradley 6-5 Webster, Darren
Hunt, Adam 6-4 Dudbridge, Mark
Noppert, Danny 6-3 Prins, Dave
Robinson, Reece 6-4 Carlin, Gavin
Lewis, Adrian 6-5 Carroll, Shaun
Tabern, Alan 6-0 Whitehead, Conan
O'Connor, William 6-5 Joyce, Ryan
Van Duijvenbode, Dirk 6-2 Dootson, Eddie
Wattimena, Jermaine 6-4 Van Duivenbode, Mike
Pipe, Justin 6-2 Burness, Kevin
Hopp, Max 6-2 McGeeney, Mark
Van de Pas, Benito 6-5 Justicia, Jose
Rafferty, Nathan 6-5 White, Ian
Killington, George 6-2 Van den Bergh, Dimitri
Gray, Adrian 6-3 Searle, Ryan
Edhouse, Ritchie 6-4 Gilding, Andrew
Aspinall, Nathan 6-4 Pallett, David
Rodriguez, Rowby-John 6-2 Owen, Robert
Evetts, Ted 6-3 King, Mervyn
Klaasen, Jelle 6-4 Todd, Mick
Razma, Madars 6-3 Cullen, Joe
Ward, Harry 6-3 Kamphuis, Vincent
Richardson, James 6-5 Brown, Keegan
Meikle, Ryan 6-5 Hughes, Jamie
Smith, Michael 6-4 Murnan, Joe
Murschell, Dawson 6-2 Stevenson, Simon
Woodhouse, Luke 6-3 West, Steve
Van der Meer, Vincent 6-4 Bates, Barrie
Evans, Ricky 6-3 Kantele, Marko
Taylor, Scott 6-4 Reyes, Cristo
Smith, Ross 6-3 Labanauskas, Darius
Lennon, Steve 6-3 Jones, Wayne
Lerchbacher, Zoran 6-3 Whitlock, Simon
Worsley, Jonathan 6-3 Bunse, Christian
Henderson, John 6-0 Temple, Terry
Alcinas, Toni 6-5 Newell, Tony
Wright, Peter 6-0 Edgar, Matthew
Atkins, Martin 6-3 Dolan, Brendan
Van der Voort, Vincent 6-2 Eastwood, Gary
Schindler, Martin 6-5 Robbe, Mario
Shepherd, Kirk 6-4 Bunting, Stephen
De Sousa, Jose 6-1 Wilson, Mark
Kanik, Tytus 6-4 Durrant, Glen
Nentjes, Geert 6-5 Hudson, Peter

Second Round
Van Gerwen, Michael 6-1 Lewis, Jamie
Thornton, Robert 6-2 Burton, Stephen
Ratajski, Krzysztof 6-3 Norris, Alan
De Zwaan, Jeffrey 6-2 Harrington, Ryan
Clayton, Jonny 6-2 Boulton, Andy
Mansell, Mickey 6-3 Petersen, Devon
Huybrechts, Kim 6-5 Beaton, Steve
Dobey, Chris 6-2 Cadby, Corey
Chisnall, Dave 6-4 Kist, Christian
Payne, Josh 6-5 Dekker, Jan
Brooks, Bradley 6-2 Hunt, Adam
Noppert, Danny 6-4 Robinson, Reece
Tabern, Alan 6-0 Lewis, Adrian
Van Duijvenbode, Dirk 6-5 O'Connor, William
Wattimena, Jermaine 6-3 Pipe, Justin
Hopp, Max 6-3 Van de Pas, Benito
Rafferty, Nathan 6-5 Killington, George
Gray, Adrian 6-1 Edhouse, Ritchie
Aspinall, Nathan 6-1 Rodriguez, Rowby-John
Klaasen, Jelle 6-5 Evetts, Ted
Ward, Harry 6-2 Razma, Madars
Richardson, James 6-5 Meikle, Ryan
Smith, Michael 6-3 Murschell, Dawson
Woodhouse, Luke 6-1 Van der Meer, Vincent
Taylor, Scott 6-1 Evans, Ricky
Smith, Ross 6-2 Lennon, Steve
Lerchbacher, Zoran 6-1 Worsley, Jonathan
Henderson, John 6-5 Alcinas, Toni
Wright, Peter 6-1 Atkins, Martin
Van der Voort, Vincent 6-4 Schindler, Martin
De Sousa, Jose 6-4 Shepherd, Kirk
Nentjes, Geert 6-4 Kanik, Tytus
Losers: £500

Last 32
Thornton, Robert 6-4 Van Gerwen, Michael
Ratajski, Krzysztof 6-2 De Zwaan, Jeffrey
Clayton, Jonny 6-0 Mansell, Mickey
Dobey, Chris 6-5 Huybrechts, Kim
Chisnall, Dave 6-4 Payne, Josh
Noppert, Danny 6-3 Brooks, Bradley
Tabern, Alan 6-4 Van Duijvenbode, Dirk
Hopp, Max 6-5 Wattimena, Jermaine
Gray, Adrian 6-5 Rafferty, Nathan
Aspinall, Nathan 6-3 Klaasen, Jelle
Ward, Harry 6-5 Richardson, James
Smith, Michael 6-2 Woodhouse, Luke
Taylor, Scott 6-1 Smith, Ross
Henderson, John 6-5 Lerchbacher, Zoran
Van der Voort, Vincent 6-5 Wright, Peter
De Sousa, Jose 6-4 Nentjes, Geert
Losers: £1,000

Last 16
Robert Thornton 6-3 Krzysztof Ratajski
Chris Dobey 6-0 Jonny Clayton
Danny Noppert 6-2 Dave Chisnall
Max Hopp 6-2 Alan Tabern
Nathan Aspinall 6-2 Adrian Gray
Harry Ward 6-5 Michael Smith
Scott Taylor 6-3 John Henderson
Jose de Sousa 6-5 Vincent van der Voort
Losers: £1,500

Robert Thornton 6-3 Chris Dobey
Max Hopp 6-3 Danny Noppert
Harry Ward 6-5 Nathan Aspinall
Jose de Sousa 6-1 Scott Taylor
Losers: £2,250

Max Hopp 7-6 Robert Thornton
Harry Ward 7-4 Jose de Sousa
Losers: £3,000

Harry Ward 8-7 Max Hopp
Winner: £10,000
Runner-up: £6,000

Share this with your friends

Your comments:

Wonderful Ward claims first PDC ranking title at Players Championship 16

Harry Ward became the latest new winner of a PDC ranking title as he claimed glory at Players Championship 16 in Barnsley with an 8-7 defeat of Max Hopp in the final.

Read more »

You have unread messages

You have unread messages