Wade completes emphatic Players Championship double in Barnsley

Man of the moment Wade reacts (credit:Lawrence Lustig/PDC)

James Wade continued his formidable floor form by securing successive Players Championship titles in Barnsley and a third in eight days with victory over Jeffrey de Zwaan in the final on Sunday.

Wade, who defeated Michael Smith in Saturday's final to claim the £10,000 top prize, repeated the feat 24 hours later by denying De Zwaan a second ranking triumph.

The day could have been oh so different for Wade, who narrowly avoided a First Round exit at the hands of Luke Woodhouse in a deciding leg, before averaging 108.7 in a 6-0 whitewash of Christian Kist.

Wade once again came through a sudden-death shoot-out against Ted Evetts, and then averaged 104.7 to defeat Stephen Bunting 6-4 and progress to the Quarter-Finals.

A convincing 6-2 triumph over Jonny Clayton followed, before 'The Machine' overcame Smith 7-4 in a repeat of Saturday's final to make it 15 victories in his last 16 meetings with the World Championship runner-up.

Wade found himself trailing 4-0 to De Zwaan in the final, but a resilient fightback saw him battle back to take his weekend winnings up to £20,000.

"When you get to my age and you haven't played so well for five years, it's really special to win back-to-back titles," said Wade.

"I thought I was dead and buried in the final. I was feeling a little bit tired and I didn't play anywhere near as well as I did in two or three other games today.

"But I'm really happy to win. I've been playing this game at the top level for 15 years now but the best may be to come.

"The sky's the limit and hopefully I can win a few more."

The final began with De Zwaan getting off to a flying start thanks to some clinical finishing, breaking throw twice as he raced into a 4-0 lead.

But after the Dutchman missed two darts at tops for 5-0 advantage, Wade took out 68 to break throw and get his first leg on the board.

Wade fired in a trademark 106 finish for another break, before finding double top to hold throw and level it up at 4-4.

De Zwaan pinned the same target to stop the rot and regain the lead, only for Wade to reel off the next three legs, including a 108 checkout, to secure his second title in as many days.

An impressive day from World Matchplay semi-finalist De Zwaan saw him post averages of 103.5, 102.5 and 106.8 in his wins over Steve Beaton, Glen Durrant and John Henderson respectively to reach his fourth ProTour final.

Australia's Corey Cadby reached the Last 16 for the first time since his return to action, while Durrant made it through to the Quarter-Finals for the third time since winning his Tour Card in January 2019.

Premier League stars Peter Wright and Daryl Gurney both exited before the Last 32 stage, while Price bowed out at the Last 16 hurdle despite averaging 105.2 in defeat to Danny Noppert.

Players Championship 12 Results

Sunday April 14

First Round

White, Ian 6-5 Brooks, Bradley
Worsley, Jonathan 6-5 Edgar, Matthew
Brown, Keegan 6-5 Boulton, Andy
Harrington, Ryan 6-1 Temple, Terry
Whitlock, Simon 6-2 Justicia, Jose
Nentjes, Geert 6-2 Wilson, Mark
Reyes, Cristo 6-3 West, Steve
Michael, John 6-4 Burton, Stephen
Smith, Michael 6-2 Lewis, Jamie
Webster, Mark 6-1 Carroll, Shaun
Anderson, Kyle 6-2 Shepherd, Kirk
Klaasen, Jelle 6-2 Tabern, Alan
Chisnall, Dave 6-3 Bates, Barrie
Bunse, Christian 6-5 Robbe, Mario
Humphries, Luke 6-4 Clemens , Gabriel
Rafferty, Nathan 6-1 De Sousa, Jose
Clayton, Jonny 6-5 Kamphuis, Vincent
Zonneveld, Niels 6-5 Carlin, Gavin
Lerchbacher, Zoran 6-4 Van der Voort, Vincent
Rodriguez, Rowby-John 6-3 Thornton, Robert
Wattimena, Jermaine 6-3 Van Barneveld, Raymond
Killington, George 6-4 Burness, Kevin
Ratajski, Krzysztof 6-3 Bain, Jamie
Mansell, Mickey 6-4 McGeeney, Mark
Wade, James 6-5 Woodhouse, Luke
Kist, Christian 6-5 Van de Pas, Benito
Evetts, Ted 6-5 Schindler, Martin
Van Baelen, Davy 6-3 Prins, Dave
Evans, Ricky 6-1 Eastwood, Gary
Richardson, James 6-3 Dootson, Eddie
Bunting, Stephen 6-3 Huybrechts, Ronny
Van den Bergh, Dimitri 6-3 Dobey, Chris
Price, Gerwyn 6-3 Monk, Arron
Ward, Harry 6-3 Marijanovic, Robert
Aspinall, Nathan 6-5 Dolan, Brendan
Hudson, Peter 6-0 Murschell, Dawson
Clark, Matt 6-3 King, Mervyn
Van der Meer, Vincent 6-1 Kantele, Marko
Noppert, Danny 6-1 Owen, Robert
Hunt, Adam 6-1 Petersen, Devon
Wright, Peter 6-3 Meeuwisse, Yordi
Van Duijvenbode, Dirk 6-4 Jones, Wayne
Henderson, John 6-0 Newell, Tony
Derry, Nathan 6-4 Van Duivenbode, Mike
Cullen, Joe 6-5 Norris, Alan
Whitehead, Conan 6-3 Dudbridge, Mark
Pipe, Justin 6-3 Lennon, Steve
Wilkinson, Carl 6-2 Huybrechts, Kim
Gray, Adrian 6-5 Lewis, Adrian
Stevenson, Simon 6-4 Meikle, Ryan
Koltsov, Boris 6-3 Payne, Josh
Cadby, Corey 6-3 Edhouse, Ritchie
Smith, Ross 6-4 Hopp, Max
Labanauskas, Darius 6-1 Barnard, Michael
Wilson, James 6-3 Kuivenhoven, Maik
Durrant, Glen 6-3 Razma, Madars
Meulenkamp, Ron 6-3 Gurney, Daryl
Murnan, Joe 6-5 Robinson, Reece
De Zwaan, Jeffrey 6-2 Kanik, Tytus
Dekker, Jan 6-2 Hughes, Jamie
Searle, Ryan 6-2 Webster, Darren
O'Connor, William 6-3 Pallett, David
Beaton, Steve 6-0 Baker, Scott
Alcinas, Toni 6-5 Joyce, Ryan

Second Round
White, Ian 6-1 Worsley, Jonathan
Brown, Keegan 6-4 Harrington, Ryan
Whitlock, Simon 6-5 Nentjes, Geert
Michael, John 6-4 Reyes, Cristo
Smith, Michael 6-0 Webster, Mark
Klaasen, Jelle 6-4 Anderson, Kyle
Bunse, Christian 6-5 Chisnall, Dave
Rafferty, Nathan 6-4 Humphries, Luke
Clayton, Jonny 6-2 Zonneveld, Niels
Rodriguez, Rowby-John 6-2 Lerchbacher, Zoran
Wattimena, Jermaine 6-0 Killington, George
Ratajski, Krzysztof 6-2 Mansell, Mickey
Wade, James 6-0 Kist, Christian
Evetts, Ted 6-3 Van Baelen, Davy
Richardson, James 6-0 Evans, Ricky
Bunting, Stephen 6-3 Van den Bergh, Dimitri
Price, Gerwyn 6-2 Ward, Harry
Aspinall, Nathan 6-4 Hudson, Peter
Van der Meer, Vincent 6-4 Clark, Matt
Noppert, Danny 6-0 Hunt, Adam
Van Duijvenbode, Dirk 6-3 Wright, Peter
Henderson, John 6-3 Derry, Nathan
Whitehead, Conan 6-2 Cullen, Joe
Pipe, Justin 6-4 Wilkinson, Carl
Stevenson, Simon 6-5 Gray, Adrian
Cadby, Corey 6-4 Koltsov, Boris
Labanauskas, Darius 6-3 Smith, Ross
Durrant, Glen 6-1 Wilson, James
Murnan, Joe 6-4 Meulenkamp, Ron
De Zwaan, Jeffrey 6-2 Dekker, Jan
O'Connor, William 6-5 Searle, Ryan
Beaton, Steve 6-1 Alcinas, Toni
Losers: £500

Last 32
White, Ian 6-2 Brown, Keegan
Whitlock, Simon 6-3 Michael, John
Smith, Michael 6-1 Klaasen, Jelle
Rafferty, Nathan 6-5 Bunse, Christian
Clayton, Jonny 6-1 Rodriguez, Rowby-John
Ratajski, Krzysztof 6-1 Wattimena, Jermaine
Wade, James 6-5 Evetts, Ted
Bunting, Stephen 6-0 Richardson, James
Price, Gerwyn 6-3 Aspinall, Nathan
Noppert, Danny 6-3 Van der Meer, Vincent
Henderson, John 6-2 Van Duijvenbode, Dirk
Pipe, Justin 6-3 Whitehead, Conan
Cadby, Corey 6-4 Stevenson, Simon
Durrant, Glen 6-1 Labanauskas, Darius
De Zwaan, Jeffrey 6-3 Murnan, Joe
Beaton, Steve 6-4 O'Connor, William
Losers: £1,000

Last 16
Ian White 6-3 Simon Whitlock
Michael Smith 6-4 Nathan Rafferty
Jonny Clayton 6-2 Krzysztof Ratajski
James Wade 6-4 Stephen Bunting
Danny Noppert 6-5 Gerwyn Price
John Henderson 6-1 Justin Pipe
Glen Durrant 6-5 Corey Cadby
Jeffrey de Zwaan 6-2 Steve Beaton
Losers: £1,500

Michael Smith 6-4 Ian White
James Wade 6-2 Jonny Clayton
John Henderson 6-5 Danny Noppert
Jeffrey de Zwaan 6-3 Glen Durrant
Losers: £2,250

James Wade 7-4 Michael Smith
Jeffrey de Zwaan 7-4 John Henderson    
Losers: £3,000

James Wade 8-5 Jeffrey de Zwaan
Winner: £10,000
Runner-up: £6,000

Share this with your friends

Your comments:

Wade completes emphatic Players Championship double in Barnsley

James Wade continued his formidable floor form by securing successive Players Championship titles in Barnsley and a third in eight days with victory over Jeffrey de Zwaan in the final on Sunday.

Read more »

You have unread messages

You have unread messages