Awesome Aspinall claims first ranking title at Players Championship 18

Jamie Shaw in PDC Darts News 5 Sep 2018
Aspinall celebrates a landmark triumph (credit:PDC)

Nathan Aspinall became the latest first-time winner of a PDC ranking title at Players Championship 18 as he defeated Ryan Searle 6-4 in the final in Barnsley on Wednesday.

The 27-year-old, who reached the World Youth Championship final in 2015, broke new ground at the Barnsley Metrodome by claiming a landmark maiden senior title.

The £10,000 top prize carries 'The Asp' 13 places up the main Order of Merit to 79th and also assures him of a place in November's Players Championship Finals as well as a debut in the World Championship.

"This is massive for me and my family - I am so happy," said Aspinall, who had previously failed to reach the Quarter-Finals of a ProTour event in 2018.

"When you have an opportunity you've got to take it and I've done that today - it all clicked together.

"Everyone always said I had potential but I've always just come up short. I know I've got the game and I knew my time would come and today is that day."

Aspinall, who came through Qualifying School in January to regain his Tour Card, began his run with a 6-1 rout of Brazil's Diogo Portela in Round One.

The Stockport star then dispatched former Lakeside finalist Danny Noppert 6-4 before defeating Ritchie Edhouse by the same scoreline.

In the Last 16, he saw off last Sunday's German Championship runner-up James Wilson 6-3 and followed it up with back-to-back 6-5 wins over Steve Beaton and Ian White to reach the final.

Aspinall survived six match darts from White in the Semi-Finals before producing a show-stopping 128 checkout on the bull in the deciding leg to snatch an emotional victory.

Searle, who was also appearing in his first PDC ranking final, began brightly with successive 14-darters to establish a 2-0 lead.

Aspinall replied with back-to-back legs to level up before taking out 107 to hit the front.

He then fired in a 98 finish to go two clear, but only for Searle to hit back with tops and double eight for parity at four-all.

Searle then missed two darts at doubles to regain the lead, allowing Aspinall to punish, and the youngster made no mistake in closing out the win on tops in the following leg.

Searle, a winner of two Challenge Tour events, enjoyed a terrific run to his first ranking final, defeating Mario Robbe, Jermaine Wattimena, World Matchplay champion Gary Anderson, Tony Newell, Steve Lennon and Ron Meulenkamp along the way.

Elsewhere, Tuesday's Players Championship winner Peter Wright suffered a first round exit at the hands of Arron Monk, while World Champion Rob Cross bowed out in Round Two to Simon Stevenson.
Tuesday's runner-up Daryl Gurney also crashed out in the opening round to Andy Boulton, Simon Whitlock went out in the Second Round to Cody Harris and Dave Chisnall went down to Luke Woodhouse in his opener.

Players Championship 18 Results

Wednesday September 5

First Round
Arron Monk 6-2 Peter Wright
Ritchie Edhouse 6-5 Darren Johnson
Danny Noppert 6-1 Wayne Jones
Nathan Aspinall 6-1 Diogo Portela
James Wilson 6-0 Peter Hudson
Ryan Joyce 6-3 Peter Jacques
Stephen Bunting 6-1 Justin Pipe
Rowby-John Rodriguez 6-5 Michael Barnard
Joe Cullen 6-5 Zoran Lerchbacher
Madars Razma 6-0 Jamie Bain
Jelle Klaasen 6-2 Alan Norris
George Killington 6-5 Ricky Evans
Andy Boulton 6-4 Daryl Gurney
Jason Cullen 6-5 Adam Hunt
Steve Beaton 6-2 Dawson Murschell
Chris Quantock 6-1 Jim Brown
James Wade 6-1 Rhys Griffin
Brendan Dolan 6-4 Richie Burnett
Josh Payne 6-1 Jimmy Hendriks
Richard North 6-1 Joe Murnan
Gerwyn Price 6-4 David Pallett
Ronny Huybrechts 6-5 Ross Smith
Devon Petersen 6-4 Steve West
Matthew Edgar 6-1 Ryan Harrington
Ian White 6-2 Scott Taylor
Dirk van Duijvenbode 6-2 Kevin Painter
Vincent van der Voort 6-5 Yordi Meeuwisse
Jeffrey de Graaf 6-1 Simon Preston
Max Hopp 6-5 Robert Marijanovic
Jan Dekker 6-4 Mark Wilson
Tytus Kanik 6-3 Kim Huybrechts
William O'Connor 6-5 John Part
Rob Cross 6-0 Benito van de Pas
Simon Stevenson 6-5 Mickey Mansell
Ron Meulenkamp 6-2 Gabriel Clemens
Davy Van Baelen 6-4 Mark Dudbridge
Luke Woodhouse 6-4 Dave Chisnall
Kyle Anderson 6-2 Martin Schindler
Mervyn King 6-1 Cameron Menzies
Andrew Gilding 6-5 Terry Jenkins
Adrian Lewis 6-5 Steve Hine
Kirk Shepherd 6-3 Scott Darbyshire
Jeffrey de Zwaan 6-5 John Davey
Dimitri Van den Bergh 6-5 Vincent Kamphuis
Simon Whitlock 6-1 Ross Twell
Cody Harris 6-4 Gary Eastwood
John Henderson 6-4 Stephen Burton
Jarred Cole 6-4 Jamie Lewis
Kevin Burness 6-2 Jonny Clayton
Robert Thornton 6-1 Eddie Dootson
Steve Lennon 6-4 Paul Nicholson
Robert Owen 6-3 Jamie Caven
Darren Webster 6-2 Cristo Reyes
Mark Webster 6-3 James Richardson
Keegan Brown 6-3 Matthew Dennant
Bradley Brooks 6-5 Adam Huckvale
Michael Smith 6-2 Dennis Nilsson
Luke Humphries 6-2 Terry Temple
Christian Kist 6-3 Chris Dobey
Tony Newell 6-1 Prakash Jiwa
Gary Anderson 6-1 Aden Kirk
Toni Alcinas 6-5 Alan Tabern
Jermaine Wattimena 6-4 Dave Prins
Ryan Searle 6-4 Mario Robbe

Second Round
Ritchie Edhouse 6-3 Arron Monk
Nathan Aspinall 6-4 Danny Noppert
James Wilson 6-2 Ryan Joyce
Stephen Bunting 6-2 Rowby-John Rodriguez
Joe Cullen 6-1 Madars Razma
Jelle Klaasen 6-2 George Killington
Andy Boulton 6-1 Jason Cullen
Steve Beaton 6-2 Chris Quantock
Brendan Dolan 6-3 James Wade
Richard North 6-5 Josh Payne
Gerwyn Price 6-4 Ronny Huybrechts
Matthew Edgar 6-3 Devon Petersen
Ian White 6-2 Dirk van Duijvenbode
Vincent van der Voort 6-3 Jeffrey de Graaf
Jan Dekker 6-4 Max Hopp
William O'Connor 6-4 Tytus Kanik
Simon Stevenson 6-3 Rob Cross
Ron Meulenkamp 6-2 Davy Van Baelen
Luke Woodhouse 6-5 Kyle Anderson
Mervyn King 6-0 Andrew Gilding
Adrian Lewis 6-1 Kirk Shepherd
Jeffrey de Zwaan 6-5 Dimitri Van den Bergh
Cody Harris 6-4 Simon Whitlock
John Henderson 6-0 Jarred Cole
Robert Thornton 6-4 Kevin Burness
Steve Lennon 6-3 Robert Owen
Darren Webster 6-0 Mark Webster
Keegan Brown 6-3 Bradley Brooks
Michael Smith 6-3 Luke Humphries
Tony Newell 6-5 Christian Kist
Gary Anderson 6-5 Toni Alcinas
Ryan Searle 6-3 Jermaine Wattimena
Losers: £500

Last 32
Nathan Aspinall 6-4 Ritchie Edhouse
James Wilson 6-4 Stephen Bunting
Jelle Klaasen 6-4 Joe Cullen
Steve Beaton 6-2 Andy Boulton
Richard North 6-2 Brendan Dolan
Gerwyn Price 6-4 Matthew Edgar
Ian White 6-1 Vincent van der Voort
Jan Dekker 6-5 William O'Connor
Ron Meulenkamp 6-4 Simon Stevenson
Mervyn King 6-1 Luke Woodhouse
Adrian Lewis 6-4 Jeffrey de Zwaan
John Henderson 6-3 Cody Harris
Steve Lennon 6-1 Robert Thornton
Darren Webster 6-3 Keegan Brown
Tony Newell 6-5 Michael Smith
Ryan Searle 6-5 Gary Anderson
Losers: £1,000

Last 16
Nathan Aspinall 6-3 James Wilson
Steve Beaton 6-4 Jelle Klaasen
Gerwyn Price 6-1 Richard North
Ian White 6-2 Jan Dekker
Ron Meulenkamp 6-2 Mervyn King
John Henderson 6-3 Adrian Lewis
Steve Lennon 6-5 Darren Webster
Ryan Searle 6-2 Tony Newell
Losers: £1,500

Nathan Aspinall 6-5 Steve Beaton
Ian White 6-5 Gerwyn Price
Ron Meulenkamp 6-3 John Henderson
Ryan Searle 6-4 Steve Lennon
Losers: £2,250

Nathan Aspinall 6-5 Ian White
Ryan Searle 6-5 Ron Meulenkamp
Losers: £3,000

Nathan Aspinall 6-4 Ryan Searle
Winner: £10,000
Runner-up: £6,000

Share this with your friends

Your comments:

Awesome Aspinall claims first ranking title at Players Championship 18

Nathan Aspinall became the latest first-time winner of a PDC ranking title at Players Championship 18 as he defeated Ryan Searle 6-4 in the final in Barnsley on Wednesday.

Read more »

You have unread messages

You have unread messages