PDC Qualifiers complete 2018 Grand Slam of Darts line-up

Jamie Shaw in PDC Darts News 5 Nov 2018
Welsh ace Mark Webster was among the eight qualifiers (credit:Lawrence Lustig/PDC)

Former World Champions Mark Webster and Stephen Bunting were among the eight PDC Tour Card qualifiers to book their place in the 2018 Grand Slam of Darts on Monday.
The last-chance qualifier for PDC Tour Card Holders saw 93 hopefuls in action at Wigan's Robin Park Tennis Centre as they battled for coveted Grand Slam spots.
Bunting and Webster raced through qualification to book spots in the £450,000 tournament at the Aldersley Leisure Village from November 10-18 alongside four Grand Slam debutants.
Former Lakeside Champion Bunting defeated Dawson Murschell, Tony Newell and Rowby-John Rodriguez to secure his third Grand Slam appearance.
Three-time Wolverhampton quarter-finalist Webster edged out World Matchplay semi-finalist Jeffrey de Zwaan 5-4 in their decider to ensure his return to the event, after also seeing off Mario Robbe and Matthew Edgar.
Former World Youth Champion Keegan Brown, a quarter-finalist in the 2014 Grand Slam, will make his third Wolverhampton appearance after wins over Lee Bryant, Brendan Dolan, Darren Johnson and Steve Lennon.
Bolton's Joe Murnan qualified for a second successive year after winning all four of his matches in last-leg deciders, defeating Ritchie Edhouse, Prakash Jiwa, Luke Humphries and Tytus Kanik.
Former UK Open quarter-finalist Steve Hine secured his debut in the event by defeating John Goldie, Kevin Burness, Scott Taylor and Arron Monk.
Andrew Gilding sealed his Grand Slam debut with a narrow 5-4 win over Alan Norris, having only dropped four legs in his earlier defeats of Ricky Evans, Adrian Lewis and Alan Tabern.
German youngster Martin Schindler completed a memorable day in Wigan by following up his earlier qualification for the World Youth Championship final by securing a Grand Slam debut.
Schindler won in a deciding leg against both Simon Stevenson and Jamie Lewis before defeating Jan Dekker 5-3 to seal his spot in Wolverhampton.
Somerset's Ryan Searle will be another debutant in Wolverhampton, after edging out Australia's Kyle Anderson 5-4 in their decider, to follow up wins over Mark Wilson, Sven Groen and Darren Webster.
There was disappointment for world number five Daryl Gurney as he lost out to Dekker, while former finalists Robert Thornton and Dave Chisnall and two-time semi-finalist Adrian Lewis also missed out.

Grand Slam of Darts - Tour Card Holders' Qualifier Results (Last 64 Onwards)

Last 64
Jan Dekker 5-3 Daryl Gurney
Stephen Burton 5-3 Robbie Green
Jamie Lewis 5-2 James Richardson
Martin Schindler 5-4 Simon Stevenson
Stephen Bunting 5-3 Dawson Murschell
Tony Newell 5-2 Jim Brown
Rowby-John Rodriguez 5-3 Jelle Klaasen
Chris Dobey 5-3 Toni Alcinas
Andrew Gilding 5-1 Adrian Lewis
Alan Tabern 5-1 Luke Woodhouse
Alan Norris 5-3 Peter Jacques
Davy Van Baelen 5-3 Justin Pipe
Arron Monk 5-3 Joe Cullen
Wayne Jones 5-3 Jermaine Wattimena
Scott Taylor 5-4 James Wilson
Steve Hine 5-1 Kevin Burness
Dave Chisnall 5-4 Ross Twell
Jeffrey de Zwaan 5-3 Ronny Huybrechts
Matthew Edgar 5-1 Benito van de Pas
Mark Webster 5-3 Mario Robbe
Luke Humphries 5-3 Steve Beaton
Joe Murnan 5-4 Prakash Jiwa
Tytus Kanik 5-4 Steve West
Dirk van Duijvenbode 5-0 Richard North
Darren Johnson 5-4 Kim Huybrechts
Keegan Brown 5-1 Brendan Dolan
John Henderson 5-4 Mickey Mansell
Steve Lennon 5-2 Mark Dudbridge
Darren Webster 5-3 Jamie Bain
Ryan Searle 5-4 Sven Groen
Kyle Anderson 5-1 Nathan Aspinall
Robert Thornton 5-1 Danny Noppert

Last 32
Jan Dekker 5-2 Stephen Burton
Martin Schindler 5-4 Jamie Lewis
Stephen Bunting 5-2 Tony Newell
Rowby-John Rodriguez 5-3 Chris Dobey
Andrew Gilding 5-2 Alan Tabern
Alan Norris 5-2 Davy Van Baelen
Arron Monk 5-4 Wayne Jones
Steve Hine 5-1 Scott Taylor
Jeffrey de Zwaan 5-2 Dave Chisnall
Mark Webster 5-1 Matthew Edgar
Joe Murnan 5-4 Luke Humphries
Tytus Kanik 5-1 Dirk van Duijvenbode
Keegan Brown 5-2 Darren Johnson
Steve Lennon 5-3 John Henderson
Ryan Searle 5-3 Darren Webster
Kyle Anderson 5-2 Robert Thornton
Last 16
Martin Schindler 5-3 Jan Dekker
Stephen Bunting 5-0 Rowby-John Rodriguez
Andrew Gilding 5-4 Alan Norris
Steve Hine 5-3 Arron Monk
Mark Webster 5-4 Jeffrey de Zwaan
Joe Murnan 5-4 Tytus Kanik
Keegan Brown 5-3 Steve Lennon
Ryan Searle 5-4 Kyle Anderson

Grand Slam of Darts 2018 Confirmed Field

PDC Representatives

2017/18 PDC World Champion - Rob Cross
2017 Grand Slam Champion - Michael van Gerwen 
2018 Premier League Champion - (Michael van Gerwen)
2018 World Matchplay Champion - Gary Anderson
2018 World Grand Prix Champion - (Michael van Gerwen)
2017 World Youth Champion - Dimitri van den Bergh
2018 Masters Champion - (Michael van Gerwen)
2018 UK Open Champion - (Gary Anderson)
2018 European Champion - James Wade
2017 Players Champion - (Michael van Gerwen)
2018 Champions League Champion - (Gary Anderson)
2018 World Series of Darts Finals Champion - (James Wade)
2018 World Cup winners - (Michael van Gerwen) & Raymond van Barneveld
2017/18 PDC World Championship runner-up - (Phil Taylor)
2017 Grand Slam runner-up - Peter Wright
2018 Premier League runner-up - Michael Smith
2018 World Matchplay runner-up - Mensur Suljovic
2018 World Grand Prix runner-up - (Peter Wright)
2017 World Youth Championship runner-up - Josh Payne
2018 Masters runner-up - (Raymond van Barneveld)
2018 UK Open runner-up - Corey Cadby [Withdrew]
2018 European Championship runner-up - Simon Whitlock
2017 Players Championship runner-up - Jonny Clayton
2018 Champions League runner-up - (Peter Wright)
2018 World Series of Darts Finals runner-up - (Michael Smith)
2018 World Cup runners-up - (Peter Wright & Gary Anderson) 
2018 European Tour winners: Gerwyn Price, Ian White, Max Hopp
2018 Players Championship winners: Krzysztof Ratajski
PDC Qualifiers: Martin Schindler, Stephen Bunting, Andrew Gilding, Steve Hine, Mark Webster, Joe Murnan, Keegan Brown, Ryan Searle

BDO Representatives

2018 Lakeside Champion - Glen Durrant
2018 Lakeside Championship runner-up - Mark McGeeney
2018 World Masters Champion - Adam Smith-Neale
2018 BDO World Trophy Champion – (Glen Durrant)

Plus top five players from BDO Rankings:
Jim Williams
Wesley Harms
Michael Unterbuchner
Scott Mitchell
Gary Robson

Share this with your friends

Your comments:

PDC Qualifiers complete 2018 Grand Slam of Darts line-up

Former World Champions Mark Webster and Stephen Bunting were among the eight PDC Tour Card qualifiers to book their place in the 2018 Grand Slam of Darts on Monday.

Read more »

You have unread messages

You have unread messages