Grand Slam of Darts 2018 Draw: Van Gerwen to face Clayton in Group A

Jamie Shaw in PDC Darts News 6 Nov 2018
Michael van Gerwen is the reigning and three-time champion (credit:Lawrence Lustig/PDC)

Michael van Gerwen will begin his quest for a fourth consecutive Grand Slam of Darts title in Group A alongside Jonny Clayton, Joe Murnan and Gary Robson.

This year's Grand Slam will be held from November 10-18 at Aldersley Leisure Village, Wolverhampton, and will feature a prize fund of £450,000, with 24 PDC players joined by eight BDO representatives.

The 32 players are initially split into eight groups, with the top two players from each group (following the round-robin phase) progressing to the knockout stages.

World number one Van Gerwen, who has claimed a hat-trick of Grand Slam titles at the Wolves Civic, will be out to continue his dominance of the cross-code major at the new venue across the city.

Clayton is making only his second appearance in the prestigious competition, while Murnan came through Monday's PDC Tour Card holders qualifier for the second successive year and Tyneside thrower Robson makes his debut.

Newly-crowed European Champion and World Series Finals champion James Wade is joined in Group C by former Grand Slam quarter-finalist Keegan Brown, former Lakeside Champion Mark Webster and Dutch talent Wesley Harms.

UK Open and World Matchplay champion Gary Anderson is placed in Group D alongside European Tour event winner Ian White, debutant qualifier Steve Hine and Germany's Michael Unterbuchner.

A formidable Group F sees European Championship finalist Simon Whitlock matched up with back-to-back BDO World Champion Glen Durrant, International Open winner Gerwyn Price and in-form qualifier Andrew Gilding.

Another closely-matched group sees Premier League finalist Michael Smith joined by 2012 Grand Slam champion Raymond van Barneveld, multiple ProTour event winner Krzysztof Ratajski and BDO World Masters Champion Adam Smith-Neale in Group B.

Peter Wright, last year's Grand Slam runner-up, will take on German Open winner Max Hopp, Players Championship event winner Josh Payne and Welsh ace Jim Williams in Group E.

Group G sees World Matchplay finalist Mensur Suljovic face off against former Lakeside Champions Stephen Bunting and Scott Mitchell, as well as World Youth finalist Martin Schindler.

PDC World Champion Rob Cross is situated in Group H alongside World Youth Champion Dimitri van den Bergh, Ryan Searle and Mark McGeeney.

The full schedule of play will be confirmed in due course.

Grand Slam of Darts 2018 Draw

Group Stage

Group A
Michael van Gerwen
Jonny Clayton
Joe Murnan
Gary Robson

Group B
Michael Smith
Raymond van Barneveld
Krzysztof Ratajski
Adam Smith-Neale

Group C
James Wade
Keegan Brown
Mark Webster
Wesley Harms

Group D
Gary Anderson
Ian White
Steve Hine
Michael Unterbuchner

Group E
Peter Wright
Max Hopp
Josh Payne
Jim Williams

Group F
Simon Whitlock
Gerwyn Price
Andrew Gilding
Glen Durrant

Group G
Mensur Suljovic
Stephen Bunting
Martin Schindler
Scott Mitchell

Group H
Rob Cross
Dimitri van den Bergh
Ryan Searle
Mark McGeeney

Share this with your friends

Your comments:

Grand Slam of Darts 2018 Draw: Van Gerwen to face Clayton in Group A

Michael van Gerwen will begin his quest for a fourth consecutive Grand Slam of Darts title in Group A alongside Jonny Clayton, Joe Murnan and Gary Robson.

Read more »

You have unread messages

You have unread messages