No spam ever. Unsubscribe in one click. By submitting your email address, you indicate your consent to receiving email marketing messages from us.

Hopp and Aspinall reach 2015 PDC World Youth Championship final

Jamie Shaw in PDC Darts News 20 Oct 2015
Qualifiers Max Hopp and Nathan Aspinall (credit:PDC)

Max Hopp and Nathan Aspinall set up a final show-down in the 2015 PDC World Youth Championship after progressing through the 64-man field in Wigan on Monday.

Bet £10 and get £20 free when you join William Hill > Darts

The talented pair prevailed from a star-studded £50,000 event at the Robin Park Tennis Centre which featured the leading under-25 players worldwide. 

German ace Hopp has already established himself as a star of both present and future with his eye-catching displays in the World Championship, World Cup and European Tour this year.

The 19-year-old, widely regarded as Germany's top darting prospect, dropped just one leg in early round wins over Stephen Rosney and Berry van Peer to kick-start his run.

He then turned on the style to overcome Belgium's Kenny Neyens, Dutch ace Jeffrey de Zwaan and Lakeside qualifier Dean Reynolds to seal his spot in the final.

Aspinall, a 24-year-old from Stockport, has previously won a PDC Development Tour event this year and will now compete for the £10,000 first prize at the Butlins Minehead Resort on Sunday November 29.

The number seven seed defeated James Thompson in his first round game before being pushed all the way by Sam Head and Scott Dale; he then overcame Josh Payne 6-4 in the quarter-finals before seeing off Roxy-James Rodriguez to reach the decider.

The Minehead venue holds happy memories for Aspinall, who won through to the last 32 of the Coral UK Open back in March before losing out on the big stage to James Wade.

Reigning World Youth Champion Keegan Brown saw his title defence end in the first round as he lost out 6-4 to Rowby-John Rodriguez in a repeat of the 2014 final.

Reynolds - a PDC Challenge Tour winner during 2015 - had defeated Australian qualifier Robbie King and former World Youth Champion James Hubbard during his run to the semi-finals, and pushed Hopp all the way to a deciding 11th leg.

Bradley Kirk, who won two Development Tour events last weekend, won through to the quarter-finals alongside de Zwaan, Payne and Scott Taylor, while Dutch trio Benito van de Pas, Jimmy Hendriks and Wouter Vaes were amongst the last 16.

Welsh ace Jamie Lewis, who has broken into the world's top 32 this year, was a second round casualty as he lost 6-4 to Neyens.

The PDC Unicorn World Youth Championship Final will be held on Sunday November 29 at the Butlins Minehead Resort during the Cash Converters Players Championship Finals.

PDC World Youth Championship 2015 Results

Monday October 19

First Round 
Nick Kenny 6-4 Dimitri Van den Bergh (1)
Jeffrey De Zwaan 6-4 Tommy Lishman
Wouter Vaes 6-4 Jake Jones
Joshua Richardson 6-1 Andrew Briere
Berry van Peer (8) 6-3 Aaron Dyer
Max Hopp 6-1 Stephen Rosney
Kenny Neyes 6-2 Jordan Matthews
Jamie Lewis 6-0 Ryan Meikle
Dean Reynolds (5) 6-3 Robbie King
James Hubbard 6-1 Piyush Chauhan
Shaun Griffiths 6-1 Nicholas Day
Chris Quantock 6-2 Adam Smith-Neale
Mike De Decker (4) 6-2 Dawson Murschell
Sam Hewson 6-4 Sven Groen
Scott Taylor 6-3 Fredi Gselmann
Ted Evetts 6-4 Harry Ward
Josh Payne (2) 6-5 Mike Zuydwijk
Rowby-John Rodriguez 6-4 Keegan Brown
Aden Kirk 6-3 Lewis Venes
Jack Tweddell 6-0 Jamie Rundle
Nathan Aspinall (7) 6-4 James Thompson
Sam Head 6-2 Dirk van Duijvenbode
Scott Dale 6-2 John De Kruijf
Kurt Parry 6-5 Steve Lennon
Benito van de Pas (6) 6-0 Rhys Griffin
Matthew Dicken 6-3 Ryan De Vreede
Roxy-James Rodriguez 6-2 Kai Gotthardt
Kevin De Vries 6-1 George Killington
Bradley Kirk (3) 6-1 Josh McCarthy
Adam Hunt 6-0 James O'Toole
Jimmy Hendriks 6-3 Reece Robinson
Thomas Luksch 6-2 Sarthak Patel
Losers £250 

Second Round 
Jeffrey de Zwaan 6-3 Nick Kenny
Wouter Vaes 6-4 Joshua Richardson
Max Hopp 6-1 Berry van Peer
Kenny Neyens 6-4 Jamie Lewis
Dean Reynolds 6-2 James Hubbard
Shaun Griffiths 6-3 Chris Quantock
Sam Hewson 6-1 Mike De Decker
Scott Taylor 6-5 Ted Evetts
Josh Payne 6-3 Rowby-John Rodriguez
Jack Tweddell 6-4 Aden Kirk
Nathan Aspinall 6-5 Sam Head
Scott Dale 6-1 Kurt Parry
Benito van de Pas 6-2 Matthew Dicken
Roxy-James Rodriguez 6-0 Kevin De Vries
Bradley Kirk 6-2 Adam Hunt
Jimmy Hendriks 6-3 Thomas Luksch
Losers £500 

Third Round 
Jeffrey de Zwaan 6-4 Wouter Vaes
Max Hopp 6-3 Kenny Neyens
Dean Reynolds 6-4 Shaun Griffiths
Scott Taylor 6-5 Sam Hewson
Josh Payne 6-2 Jack Tweddell
Nathan Aspinall 6-5 Scott Dale
Roxy-James Rodriguez 6-3 Benito van de Pas
Bradley Kirk 6-1 Jimmy Hendriks
Losers £1,000 

Max Hopp 6-4 Jeffrey de Zwaan
Dean Reynolds 6-5 Scott Taylor
Nathan Aspinall 6-4 Josh Payne
Roxy-James Rodriguez 6-3 Bradley Kirk
Losers £1,500 

Max Hopp 6-5 Dean Reynolds
Nathan Aspinall 6-3 Roxy-James Rodriguez
Losers £2,500 

Max Hopp v Nathan Aspinall
*Final to be played on Sunday November 29 at Butlins Minehead during Players Championship Finals
Winner £10,000
Runner-Up £5,000 

BONUS BETS United States
Change Location

Share this with your friends

Your comments:

Hopp and Aspinall reach 2015 PDC World Youth Championship final

Max Hopp and Nathan Aspinall set up a final show-down in the 2015 PDC World Youth Championship after progressing through the 64-man field in Wigan on Monday.

Read more »

You have unread messages

You have unread messages