FOLLOW Live Darts

Whitlock Edges Taylor In DPA Masters Final

The Wizard edges out Taylor (credit: Lawrence Lustig/ PDC)
Simon Whitlock claimed victory on home soil as he defeated Phil Taylor 6-5 to win the DPA Australasian Masters title.

Watch and bet on live Darts at Bet365 > Live streaming > Darts

Australia's number one prevailed from a huge field of 256 players to deny The Power in Sunday’s final in Queensland.

Whitlock, who dispatched Koha Kokiri and Craig Caldwell en route to the final, fired in five 180s in a high quality battle, before holding his nerve in a tense last leg decider to seal victory in front of his home crowd.

The tournament culminated a week-long festival of darts on the Gold Coast, the most important on the 2012 DPA calendar.

Taylor travelled Down Under for the first time to take part in three DPA events, as well as a series of exhibitions in Melbourne and Adelaide alongside top Australian darter Russell Stewart.

Dart Players Australia is associated with the PDC. They host a series of events throughout Australia which all count towards the DPA Order of Merit through which World Championship qualifiers are determined at the cut-off date.

Australia has now become a major force in world darts, with top 16 stars Simon Whitlock and Paul Nicholson renowned as two of game's most recognisable faces who put Australian darts on the map by reaching the final of the recent World Cup of Darts.

Australasian Masters Results (Quarter-Finals onwards)

Sunday August 19

Quarter Finals
Phil Taylor 6-0 Bill Aitken 
Sean Reed 6-5 Steve Duke Jr 
Shane Tichowitsch 5-6 Craig Caldwell 
Simon Whitlock 6-1 Koha Kokiri 

Semi Finals
Phil Taylor 6-2 Sean Reed 
Craig Caldwell 2-6 Simon Whitlock

Phil Taylor 5-6 Simon Whitlock

Recent PDC Darts News Articles

More Stories

Recent Articles

More Stories

Claim your free bet

  • £200bonus
    Watch & bet on live darts at 365

    Find out why bet365 is the World's largest bookmaker with over 10 million customers. Superb in-play service and live watch and bet streaming of big sporting events including all darts streams. Plus, deposit £200 and have £400 to use whichever way you like, no tokens, just cash! Register to activate.

  • £10>20bonus
    Bet £10 Get £20 Free

    William Hill are the official sponsors of the 2015 World Championships and they're giving all darts fans £20 in free bets when they sign-up and deposit just £10.

    William Hill customers can also watch every throw from the World Championships live online via WHTV, the site's live streaming service.

  • £25bonus
    Live Streaming Darts - new

    Ladbrokes have just started a new live streaming sports service available to members for free - register using the code MAXCASH to access.

  • £5bonus
    Claim a free £5 no deposit bet

    BetVictor are the title sponsors of the second biggest event of the year - the World Matchplay. They are offering all darts fans a completely free £5 bet!

  • £250bonus
    £250 free bet

    Get £250 free when you bet £250 at Paddy Power.

  • £5bonus
    £5 free every week from Skybet!

    All new customers at Sky Bet will get a £5 free bet each week simply for betting with Skybet and their newly launched Skybet Free Bet Club. All you have to do is bet a fiver each week to get a free fiver! That's £260 free in just one year...nice one!

  • £25 bonus
    Risk-free £25 at Sportingbet

    Sportingbet offer exclusive outright markets on all non-televised PDC ProTour events. They have a generous welcome bonus which means that if your first bet loses, then you will get it refunded (up to £25). Use the promotional code MAXIMUMBONUS when you sign up.

  • £10>30bonus
    Bet £10 Get £30 Free

    Register an account with Betfair and bet £10 and you will receive £30 in free bets. That's a 300% bonus!

  • £25bonus
    Free £25 when you join Betfred

    Register with today for a free £25 matched bet. Also enjoy regular darts promotions from the Bonus King and superb darts betting markets.

  • £5>20bonus
    Bet £5 Get £20 Free

    Register an account with Coral and bet £5 on any darts match and you will receive £20 in free bets

  • £10bonus
    Free £10 bet using MAXIMUMBONUS

    Use promotion code MAXIMUMBONUS when you register with Stan James and claim a free £10 bet! Watch live darts online via your account!

  • £5 > £20bonus
    Bet £5 and get £20 free

    Place a first bet of just £5, and Winner will reward you with a £20 free bet to use on any sports market!


Share this with your friends

Your comments:

Whitlock Edges Taylor In DPA Masters Final

Simon Whitlock claimed victory on home soil as he defeated Phil Taylor 6-5 to win the DPA Australasian Masters title.

Read more »